We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bonaparte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mar del Plata 2171 | Providencia, Santiago 751-0574, Chile   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 169 hotels in Santiago
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

After reading many reviews on Trip Advisor about this hotel, I couldn't agree more with their positive reviews. Hotel has a great location in a quiet residential neighborhood, but not too far from the main streets. It is only a 10-15 walk from the Los Leones metro stop and the Avenida Providencia with many restaurants and shops. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly and assisted us with many phone calls, reservations, tours. Hotel is clean and comfortable in all areas, lobby, restaurant, cafe, and room. Hotel offered free wifi, in room and lobby, which was nice. Rooms were a bit small but very comfortable. Restaurant was good for dinner, limited options, but good tasting. American breakfast buffet, inlcuded in price, was plentiful with eggs, toast, fruit, yogurt, cereal etc. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the street, front of hotel, and had windows open at night. Street noise was quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaparte_Hotel, Owner at Hotel Bonaparte, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is really nice to hear that other people love our neighborhood as much as we do.
Please contact me if you are planning to come back to Chile and I will be glad to acommodate you in a larger room.
Best regards,

Camila Ruiz
(camilaruiz@bonaparte.cl)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    74
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
44
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Chile
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Felt very comfortable, spotlessly clean, service friendly and personal. The restaurant was excellent, if a bit expensive. The hotel is in a quiet residential area; only drawbacks are a long hike to the nearest metro station and there are not many restaurants close by. As I had a lot of business to do in Santiago, I must have walked 60 miles (100 kms) in four days. As I live in Chile and speak Spanish, I perhaps found it easier to do things in the hotel although most of the staff, especially at the reception speak good English. One slight problem--I was charged for items from the minibar that I had not taken; I bought them in a mini-market nearby; but upon explanation, I signed the tab and it was okayed. Save receipts from markets! I would definitely recommend for service and comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaparte_Hotel, Owner at Hotel Bonaparte, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
It´s great to hear that you liked our hotel and we loved that you described us like a "chilean grandmother", we work hard to make the hotel a cozy place.
We are glad that your your incident with the minibar was resolved to your satisfaction.
Hope to have you back soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Bonaparte for several weeks traveling for business reasons. The Hotel is nice and clean, though not fancy. All the staff are really nice and helpful, specially the clerks. The Restaurant is OK too. It has a small amount of options but they are all tasty. The personnel at the restaurant are generally speaking not as helpful as the people form the front desk.
In terms of location, although the hotel is situated in a very nice area of the city, it is also really quiet. You will not find many restaurant options nearby. Another con is that it is quite far away from the metro (20 min walk).
Other tip: avoid rooms looking to the street (north) as they get really hot due to constant sunlight. Also, try to avoid rooms on the first two floors as the magnetic cards tend to fail more often than not.
Overall, I recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaparte_Hotel, Owner at Hotel Bonaparte, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate your comments. We are constantly trying to improve and passenger’s comments are always helpful. In regards to your comments about the rooms facing north, we would like to let you know that we are soon to renovate de windows. This will help keep the room at an enjoyable temperature.
Regards,

Camila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall a comfortable stay, but a bit aged. Staff friendly and helpful and restaurant food reasonable. The breakfast area could consider opening a bit earlier. They were very strict and did not even allow a cup of coffee or sitting down before 07:00. In business environment you need to be more flexible.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaparte_Hotel, Owner at Hotel Bonaparte, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for your comments.
We agree with you, flexibility is very much appreciated when travelling. In this sense we always try to make an extra effort and to give the best service we can. However, we would like to let you know that we offer an early breakfast at the passenger’s request.
We hope to have you back someday.
Regards,

Camila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston,NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, one on the front end and one on the back end of our Patagonia adventure. We love the hotel, the staff, the dining experience. Paul at the front desk made our stay so enjoyable. The hotel is in a lovely section of town, making it easy to go out for a walk. Nice breakfast buffet. The hotel is about 20 mintues fromt he airport and 10-15 min from downtown. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a small room first night and a suite the second time, which was just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaparte_Hotel, Owner at Hotel Bonaparte, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the high ratings you gave us. We work very hard to make everyones stay pleasent. We hope you have the opportunity to come back to Chile and stay with us again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were a group of 7 couples who were spending 2 nights in Santiago before heading to the coast for a cruise. We were delighted they could take us all. We all piled into the lunch room immediately after check in. It had been a long flight from Canada and we were famished. The staff in the restaurant was great and very patient with a bunch of weary travellers. The hotel is not fancy but the staff is pleasant, the rooms adequate. There was Wifi and room safes and fairly comfy beds. The neighborhood was pretty. The price was reasonable. The breakfast buffet was adequate. We really had no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaparte_Hotel, Owner at Hotel Bonaparte, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments. We are trying to improve our breakfast service and we´ll be soon serving fresh orange juice. If you have any suggestions please write to: operaciones@bonaparte.cl and we´ll be happy to take them into consideration.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Was in Santiago on business and this hotel was very near my client's offices. Located in the beautiful Provedencia neighborhood, it was very quiet and relaxing, and within walking distance of many nice restaurants and shops. The rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable. The restaurant suprised with very creative dishes at lunch and dinner, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Overall, a very nice experience and I will definitely stay here again when in Santiago for business.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool area are much sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Address: Mar del Plata 2171 | Providencia, Santiago 751-0574, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bonaparte 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonaparte Hotel Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.