We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Winery and Tour, Average Wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Concha y Toro Winery

Concha y Toro Winery
Avda. Virginia Subercaseaux 210, Pirque, Santiago, Chile
56 2 2476 5269
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #36 of 126 activities in Santiago
Type: Wineries
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Wine Tourist Center of Concha y Toro is the principal winemaking attraction of Santiago. It’s located in Pirque in the Maipo Valley, a privileged area for the production of world-quality wines. The Centre is located one hour from the city.The old cellars and vineyards of Concha y Toro are part of Chile’s winemaking tradition. Founded in 1883, it is now one of the most important wineries in the world.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Winery and Tour, Average Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Liked- beautiful vineyard and great staff, we did the $35 tour and got a cheese plate and extension of the basic tour so tasted 6 wines in total. Wines were good but nothing was amazing, we were looking for wedding wine but nothing stood out as amazing. Got glass and cheese board to take with us as gifts. Would recommend to do the $35 tour as you get A LOT more than the basic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    438
    155
    52
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not worth it - poor quality wine provided in tastings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The tour we did only had 2 wine tastings and neither was very good. You´d think that they would want people to buy their wine but after that visit, I definitely wouldn´t bother. Our guide was good but the whole point is to taste good wine. Take a trip over the border to Mendoza if you want really good wineries.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tour was fine, wines rather underwhelming!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The winery was in lovely surroundings and the tour was fun, however the wines that were offered were distinctly average - I expected more from the second biggest in the world. However, the restaurant was good and there were some dancers entertaining us whilst we ate which was a nice touch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An average winery with a structured wine tour.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We took in a half day tour with a tour group. The grounds were nice, the wine aging celler Casillero del Diablo, with its sound and light show was a pleasant experience. We were given two pre-selected wines to taste. The first one was not good and the second one was of moderate quality/taste. One has to come as part of a group tour and take the tour to be able to do wine tasting. It is not like the Napa Valley, California wineries where you can just walk in and request to do wine tasting and buy some good food to go along with. Quite regimented/structured I would say. You can buy wine at slightly cheaper than the market prices at their wine store. They do let you keep one of the glasses that you taste the wine from during the tour. If you are a serious wine drinker and would like to taste superior wines, I would say look elsewhere. But if the purpose is to visit a winery and take in a tour/wine tasting, then it is a reasonably good experience. The tour guide had lived in Australia doing various odd jobs, was well conversant in English and did try to inject humor in his trip narrative.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have been here twice, once for the whole tour and one for more tasting. Well organised, great food and the staff were kind and so well informed. We had great local food, and the wine tasting was nicely organised and we had a great afternoon!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Concha y Toro Winery also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Concha y Toro Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concha y Toro Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Concha y Toro Winery to your Saves list