We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fine Arts Museum

Fine Arts Museum
Parque Forestal, Santiago, Chile
56-2 49 91 600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$36*
and up
Santiago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #40 of 151 Attractions in Santiago
Type: Art Museums, Neighborhoods, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum is home to one of the world's largest collections of paintings, sculptures and tapestries of renowned artist Jean Lucrat.
Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It´s a good place to go, but if you compare with the best museums of Latin America (In Sao Paulo or Buenos Aires), Bellas Artes finishs last. It´s in a nice neighborhood, but i got the expecting more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    161
    72
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Sunday afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I really like this museum, because you can see a lot of paintings and sculptures from our country, by Rebecca Matte for example, which are my favourite. I'd recommend it on a Sunday afternoon, when it's not very crowded or too empty.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful buildings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a nice museum, especially for those who enjoy sculptures. I walked there from downtown and the walk which you can after your visit extend next to the river was pleasant. I enjoyed the content of the museum, but being a bit of an architecture fan, what I enjoyed the most was the building!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Can do it in about an hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a nice little museum. It is only 600 pesos (cheap!) and it's a lovely building. The exhibits are nice although there aren't many. You get a good feel for Chile's art history however and it's nice and quiet inside. I enjoyed the time I spent there. I got through it in a little over an hour and I saw everything. They have a nice little gift shop in the front.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Never Mondays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

As most of the museums of the world Bellas Artes is closed on Monay. Bellas Artes is an museum that is arranged to get classic education. You see the development of art in Chile also you can admire pictures of European artists.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fine Arts Museum also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Fine Arts Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fine Arts Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.