We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Crisobal Hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro San Cristobal

Cerro San Cristobal
Parque Metropolitano de Santiago, Santiago, Chile
+56 2 27301411
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cerro San Cristobal like an insider
Top Rated
$62*
and up
Santiago City Sightseeing Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This 860 meter hill in the center of Santiago features a zoo and wine museum at the midway point and a gondola ride to the top, where a virgin mary statue overlooks the city.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“San Crisobal Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Taking the funicular to the top and back, or just one way is optional but I've always walked up on the nice trail. Pretty views and a nice way to get a little exercise !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,409
    1,898
    326
    24
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hill Over The City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

San Cristobal Hill has views looking over santiago. I visited the hill on a day where the funicular ride was not working, but it was a pleasent walk up to the top. I luckily had good visibility while on other days in the city the smog blocked most views

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great view over santiago! The funicular ride up the mountain is great. Very lucky to have a clear day to see all

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very beautiful! Well worth the climb to the top. The view is terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

So nice to visit. There are benches to rest on as you climb to the top. The view is wonderful. You can see the snow capped mountains in the distance.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“As Previously Stated - An Excellent View of Santiago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our last day in the city we definitely wanted to check out the view from this hill. We arrived close to noon and were able to get on the next funicular - no problem. Word of note - they do charge approx. 1/3 more on holidays. Not really an issue if you come all this way, but still........

It was a very nice view - a bit smoggy but not too bad. There are lots of runners, bikers and tourists at the top - as well as a few church goers. There is an interesting statue and religious gardens, sanctuaries as well.

Likely worth a view - either by funicular or by road.

PS - as we came down the funicular we noticed a very long line to go up. Probably best to come before noon to avoid major crowds.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro San Cristobal also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Cerro San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro San Cristobal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.