We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No regrets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Orly to your Saves list
Hotel Orly
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Pedro de Valdivia 027 | Providencia, Santiago, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #19 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No regrets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

As others have said, this is a place where the staff goes the extra mile. We rented one room and one apartment for a family trip in June 2013. Both spaces met our needs quite well. The breakfast was ample and delicious, the location near the Metro was convenient, and the neighborhood was fun to walk around and full of bars and restaurants.

Best of all was the service. They helped us rent a car (for much less $$ than Hertz wanted ahead of time), advised us how to get places, and addressed our every concern. We did have problems with the Internet in our apartment, but we got around that by walking down the street to the lobby and connecting there.

On our last day, we got the best help of all when we found that the rental car battery had died. Multiple staff members from the hotel and the apartment complex worked together to help us get a jump start so we could get on the road to Valparaiso. We were extremely grateful for their patience and perseverance in working with us until the problem was solved. Hotel Orly deserves its high reputation for outstanding service.

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom apartment down the street is spacious and has a washer/dryer machine for laundry. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    383
    90
    20
    8
See reviews for
157
626
73
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment in early May, we were on the 5th floor of an 8 floor building, there is a lift. The apartments are in a separate building to the hotel about 100 meters down the road.

The apartment is well equipped, has good free WiFi, an air-conditioner in each room, comfortable bed, serviced daily, breakfast is included at the hotel dining room and is available until 10.00am.

The location is fantastic with many restaurants along the Main Street called Avenue Providencia which is 130 meters up the street, turn right when you leave the apartment building or left if you are leaving the hotel. The subway is on Avenue Providencia and about a 400 metre walk, turn right out of the apartment building and then right again when you get to Avenue Providencia. The name of the subway is Pedro de Valdivia and it is on the red subway line. There is a large modern multi storey shopping centre called Costanera Center with a huge 'Jumbo' supermarket less than a km and near the Los Leones subway near Avenue Los Leones. See map here: https://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msid=217424321710759260455.0004c02bedace3cb7e2bb&msa=0&ll=-33.417437,-70.602908&spn=0.014257,0.032659. The Jumbo supermarket has a big wine section with some very good prices. It also has a large selection of breads, cheese, cold meats etc. We got directions to the shopping centre at the Tourist Information centre on the intersection of Avenue Providencia and Avenue 11 de Septembre, also near Los Leones. The hotel reception has a local area map, you just have to ask and they will mark the map with the shopping centre location.

There are also some good restaurants and bars in the same street as the hotel and we had good meals at a small beef restaurant up near the hotel.

The only negative thing is that the road the apartment and the hotel is on is quite busy early in the morning with peak hour traffic so noise could be a problem if you are a light sleeper but it would be worth staying here and taking earplugs.

We paid US$110 per night and this was excellent value.

We also had the hotel book us a car to pick us up from the airport at 11.30pm for US$45 and the airport is a bit of a distance from the hotel. The driver took us to the hotel to check-in and then drove us to the apartment basement carpark. A hotel staff member came with us and showed us up to the apartment and explained how the appliances work, great service.

The apartment has a lobby with a security man so it is very secure.

Thoroughly recommended apartment.

I have added photos but can't figure out how to add them in the right order?

Room Tip: Stay in an apartment it is great to have the extra room, comfortable sofa and dining table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have stayed in many different places in Santiago over my last 15 to 20 trips and I have found Hotel Orly to be one of the best for your money. The staff bend over backwards to make sure you have a pleasant stay and the included breakfast is fantastic! There are a lot of fun local restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel. The area around the hotel is very safe too. enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Orly for three nights following our two week S.A. cruise. First of all, I LOVED Santiago. It reminded me a little of Paris with all the night life, the parks, the little shopping areas, etc., but I was blown away when we pulled up in front of Hotel Orly. I honestly felt like I was stepping into a little Parisian hotel. The staff was super friendly and gave us tips on where to go and what to see. Our room was absolutely charming (main building) and we were lucky enough to be one of the first patrons in the new restaurant that opened on the first floor (outdoor seating as well). We had all the amenities we could want and even had use of their computers. I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever lucky enough to be in Santiago again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Loved this hotel - I actually stayed a short walk down the raod in their spacious apartments - stayed for two spells in two different apartments - The breakfast was great the staff extremely helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel - close to restaurants and short walk to Santiago's safe efficient Metro - will stay agin when I come back later in the year

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights - I would strongly recommend you get an apartment like we did. They are more spacious and newer than the rooms in the hotel, it seems, however they are situated about 50-100 metres down the road form the reception. We didn't mind this at all and the hotel staff were very helpful with our bags.

The room is nice, with a comfortable bed and a small kitchenette. It's clean and well kept. Breakfast was served back at the hotel building every morning in the lovely atrium area. The breakfast staff work really hard. The transfer driver was very nice and professional and it beat negotiating all the taxi hawkers when you come through the arrivals gate. There's a metro around the corner (5 min walk) and a supermarket, starbucks, parilla grill and some average restaurants all nearby.

Now, the quibble: the shower water drains so slowly that it makes showering a pain in the butt. If you don't stop the water, it will overflow and flood the whole bathroom floor (see photo). We advised the reception staff on the first day and they said they would have it looked at. The next day, nothing had changed and we asked the reception again if something could be done. They said the plumber had looked at it and fixed it. There was no difference to us and the water still drained painfully slowly. We put up with it for the first few days but after a while, it gets pretty annoying to have to 1) turn the shower on, 2) wet yourself, 3) turn the water off and wash with soap/shampoo while the water drains away, 4) turn water back on to rinse, 5) turn water off to allow it to drain, 6) turn water back on to finish showering. Each time you turn the water off, you have to stand there for at least 3-4 mins for it to drain - it's not quick! Maybe this doesn't sound like much, but when you're naked and freezing, it seems like an eternity. Also, for the 3-4 mins you have to wait for the water to drain, you only get 1-2 mins of running water before the tub fills up to the rim, so you end up waiting for a lot longer than showering.

Room Tip: Choose the apartments for more room and newer amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first two nights on our 3week South America tour.
All was good ,welcoming staff ,great breakfast,room was comfortable ,quaint setting,helpful staff,good location.Although we then stayed in Lastarria on our return to Santiago as it has a wider range of cafes and restaurants.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlyhotel, Gerente at Hotel Orly, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

I hope you are having a good day.

Thank you very much for you review...... it is always a great pleause to have you here with us.

Our job is to make you feel at home....

See you soon.

Pia Alvarez León
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orly

Address: Avenida Pedro de Valdivia 027 | Providencia, Santiago, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#21 Family Hotel in Santiago
#31 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Orly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Orly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orly Hotel Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.