We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, service, views and kitchenette” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Magdalena Apartments

Santa Magdalena Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Magdalena Apartments to your Saves list
Santa Magdalena Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Helvecia 244 | Las Condes, Santiago 7550136, Chile (Las Condes)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great stay, service, views and kitchenette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

i stayed in this little aparthotel for a week when visiting Santiago for a conference. I could work away in peace a few days, do grocery shopping in the local supermarket (big one near-by), gazing at the amazing mountain-view from the top-floor corner-flat (with two balconies, which in winter i couldn't enjoy that much). The flat had a little kitchenette, a room and a bedroom, which made it all very cosy. Also one could hear no noises to the bedroom from the hallway. The internet connection was great, although wired. The service was great. The staff were really helpful and super friendly, although the cleaning staff of course didn's speak English we survived.
The neighbourhood is very safe, not that exciting, though, but the connections downtown were excellent with the metro. There are also good restaurants and cafes (and copy shops, gyms in the side streets and fancy shops on the main streets) in the neighbourhood, though as this is a business district they are mainly open for lunch. I had long walks in this "new Santiago" both day and night, and felt really safe.
I'd definitely be coming back again, if I ever have the chance and would recommend this as the quiet base, when visiting Santiago for little bit longer - even for a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
6
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Location is great, room is tidy, but the location is very noisy. If you want a good night's sleep, don't stay here!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

Extremely accommodating service and hospitality. Matias and his staff were very helpful with making reservations and giving us suggestions. The apart-hotel is in a fantastic location. Only a few blocks from the subway and right around the corner from great bars, restaurants and shops. It's also only a block from the supermarket which is perfect considering the apartment has a fully functioning kitchen. The pool on the roof is small and quaint but a perfect way to end the day. The 1 bedroom apartment was comforable, though a bit small (though much larger than just a regular hotel room).

ps- you can take the purple line on the subway to the last stop and arrive just minutes from Concha y Toro. Don't bother hiring a driver or a tour b/c it's cheap and easy to get to with public transportation.

Skip Valpariso, it's a very dirty, poor man's version of the Amalfi Coast, not worth the trip. If you've already seen the Pacifice Ocean also skip Vina del Mar. Not worth it. Instead, head into the Andes Mts. for some hiking.

Restaurants: Astrid y Gaston - very good, but very pricey. Not sure it's worth it. Other local restaurants are much better.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

The place is very clean, close to grocery store, Metro, restaurants. The staff was very very helpful and were there to help us as much as possible. The people at the front desk couldn't speak English but the people in the office next door who could speak English very well went out of their way to be as helpful as possible!! They gave us their card to call them night or day if we needed some immediate help. They let us use their internet free of charge. They had a small kitchen and laundry machine in the apartment which was great to wash those few things that needed to be washed.

I felt safe walking the streets in the area. It was a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Location and helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — You could hear street noise at night if you paid attention
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon,England
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

This was our second choice after the hotel we wanted was full and am I pleased, what luck. Very comfortable, clean and has everything you could wish for. Ok the roof pool is small so what when everything alse is so good. The English speaking staff(not all) were so helpful and we liked the area and proximity to Metro even thogh we had a camera stolen on it. Take a tip. Put your camera on a strap and hang it inside your shirt and only get it out to take shots. we were being very careful but in the crush to get off the metro when you have to grab the rail to steady yourself it happened. We loved Santiago and it is a very clean city and most people are very helpful. We would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Alround facilities,cleanliness, location,service.
  • Disliked — The air conditioner from next appartment was on our balcony,minor irritation.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston WV
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

I have been here for over a month and this is the best lodging I have ever had! The staff is great, the housekeeping amazing, and the location couldn't be better! The washer/dryer in the room leave much to be desired, but who wants to do laundry anyway?! You can't pick a better place for the value, the amenities, and the proximity to the metro, supermarket, shopping, great food, and easy access to cabs at the corner!

  • Liked — That I had a full kitchen and 2 balconies! Not to mention a housekeeper who went above the call of duty for me many times
  • Disliked — That the main office closes at 8pm and I often got home afterwards, so if I needed some info I had to wait until the next day
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

Great apartment. Full equipped. Nice service. I stayed for two days with somebody else at $ 100.- per day.

  • Liked — Neighborhood
  • Disliked — Single bed
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Magdalena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Magdalena Apartments

Address: Helvecia 244 | Las Condes, Santiago 7550136, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Las Condes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Magdalena Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Magdalena Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Magdalena Apartments Hotel Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Magdalena Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.