We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst wedding anniversary ever...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eurotel Providencia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Eurotel Providencia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eurotel Providencia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Guardia Vieja 285 | Providencia, Santiago 7510249, Chile (Providencia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 170 hotels in Santiago
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
“Worst wedding anniversary ever...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Me and my wife went to Santiago to enjoy our first wedding anniversary.
The day before our anniversary we found out the shower was cold! They refused to give us another room where the shower was hot and suggested to we take our bath in the hotel´s gym! Lame, lame lame...
At the checkout, the airport shutter was waiting for us and there were a lot of orders we didn´t make! I don´t know how much bottles of wine, soup, sandwiches and other foods someone else ordered and they put it in our room bill!
Don´t go there!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    62
    46
    14
    12
See reviews for
36
53
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Good things
Great location in Providencia
Handy to shops and subway system
Room (302) was a good size
Room was cleaned well and maintained well each day
Free internet access in the business centre
Breakfast included each day

Things that the hotel can do better
Restaurant - better customer service training required for most of the staff.
Restaurant - the restaurant manager / chef needs to know how different cultures like to drink their tea. In Australia, New Zealand, UK for example, hot tea with cold milk - never hot tea with hot milk. Often tea in restaurants is served in a smallish teapot say for 1 or 2 persons max, with the milk in a small jug. The customer may let the tea "brew" and pour it themselves and add their own milk
Restaurant - food handling. I did not see the chef use gloves for hygiene purposes. Cold cuts such as dairy products and meat products MUST be kept cold. ie, put the tray in a bed of ice to help stop bacteria forming. On every day we ate there, no dairy or meat products were cold. This has huge health concerns for anyone eating products that should be kept refrigerated at certain temperatures at all times
Restaurant - quality of food - not great. The worst was on Saturday morning when I got two pieces of bread. I was just about to butter it and found a large amount of green mould/fungus growing on the crust - around 2 - 3 cm long. Obviously the bread was stale, the mould had been growing for a while and the bread had not been kept in proper conditions. The croissants we ate instead of the bread were also stale. In either case, this SHOULD NEVER have happened in ANY restaurant. It made me feel sick about eating there again.

Front desk - when we initially checked in, the person at the front desk knew we had to leave by 6.30am on Monday 13th Dec. He said that breakfast started at 6.30 and he could perhaps arrange a light breakfast at 6.00am. That never happened.
Front desk - I asked for a 5am wake up call on 13th Dec, that never happened.
Front desk - we wanted to buy a HopOnHopOff bus ticket however we were told the hotel accepted cash only for this. We didd't have enough pesos and the amount quoted in US $ was high due to the exchange rate the hotel uses.
Front desk - we asked to pay in pesos on our credit card upon check out but the amount was rediculously high which basically forced us to accept that we would be charged in US$.

Room - we could not get the wake up call function on the phone to work.
Room - we were astounded to find the fridge locked - we didn't want to use the minibar but would have liked to put medicines in there. I did not feel inclined to ask for the bar fridge to be unlocked as I felt that if it was locked in the first place, the hotel must have had problems with guests not paying for what they used and I certainly didn't want to be accused of stealing anything.
On the first day after breakfast we found that our windows were open - they weren't open when we went to breakfast. Turns out the locks were shot and I asked the maid to call someone to fix them
Room - far too noisy - every night we were woken with people presumably coming from clubs yelling and screaming down the street. This happened without fail every night of our stay between 2am and 4am. While you cannot control what people will do outside the hotel, you can help to reduce the noise coming into the hotel with double glazing for example.

Bottom line
Would I recommend this hotel / stay in this hotel again - no - for the reasons above.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

The hotel is in a great location, close to a lot of shopping, restaurants and a safe area to walk around. The hotel lobby is nice. However, the hotel has some fundamental flaws. First, the rooms are very dated. The carpets are green, dirty and should be replaced. The draperies, bathroom, beds, are also very dated. The closest door in my room is broken. Overall, the rooms need a major makeover. There is also no free internet access in the rooms. You have to pay for it. But if you do, you can only use the username and password on one device at a time.

The hotel does include breakfast but then again this falls quite short to what I would expect based on where this hotel is situated and the surrounding hotels. They offer a buffet style breakfast but they don't offer staples like yogurt. In addition, they do not offer fruit juice, rather sugared fruit drink. The room service menu is also unappealing. I did not eat at the restaurant based on the room service menu and the breakfast but based on the quality of those offerings, I would suggest exploring many of the nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

My husband and I spent three days at his hotel. Location is excellent, in Providence, a medium-high class district. Business center, tourist information through a computer by the lobby (look for it). Breakfast included is buffet, monotonous though, coffe is not great deal and juice is not natural, but it solves the problem of breakfast in the morning in order to start the day. If you want something tasty, better, you can go to the Starbucks two blocks away. Also half block, on the same street there is a simple nice place, many kinds of bread and more.
In front of the hotel two or three small places for a beer or simple italian food, but there are much better places to go.
Parking is free beneath the same hotel, be sure to ask at reception how to open the door of the garage when you want to go out with the car (there is a rope hanging somewhere that opens the door).
This hotel has two buildings inside: a modern one and an old one, they even have separated elevators for this. The modern side has spacious nice rooms, but the other side offers smaller ooms with smaller beds, bathroom and not LCD television.
Just two blocks away you can reach Pedro Valdivia metro station. Metro in Santiago runs pretty good, though a little expensive. Clean, on time, spacious, not crowdy, the easiest way to go downtown, because it is difficult to park there.
Don´t miss Viña del Mar and Valpariso, 1 1/2 hour driving if you rent a car, or take a tour for around 28,000 pesos, around USD 50 a person. Same cost approximately to go visit vineyards and vine cellars like Indomita or Concha y Toro or Undurraga, make reservations for this.
Also visit big malls like Alto Las Condes and Parque Arauco. Food in Chile is not the best and a little expensive, I personally reccomend TANTA, at Parque Arauco, exquisite peruvian food.
Something we did not like was the quality of the service at reception. Receptionist did not offer us any tourist help: map of the city, places to go and visit, places to go and listen to chilean music, they did not spoke portuguese though we saw many brazilian tourists there,etc. we had to ask for every information and it was not enough and they were not very nice, not involved in a good service, they just did their job, like a person that is not happy with her job.
The worst part was that we payed half day for our room the first day, since we arrived before check in time, but they were making improvements on the terrace above our heads, we heard the hammer working like a torture for us who had had no sleep the night before, they forgot to let us know this detail...When we asked for an explanation they told us that the noise would continue also the day after!!! then they changed us room, but it was on the older part...so we were angry about this since we did not know about this when making reservations.
When leaving the hotel we did not receive any kind of compensation, they charged everything but did not receive anything as a discount or at least free bevearages from the small refrigerator in the room, or a complimentary bottle of wine, nothing for the noise and the smaller room with not LCD television.
So, a well located hotel, poor breakfast and poor receptionist service to tourists.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Our stay was very nice. The room was clean, nice, breakfast was very good. The hotel is very well located. Only the heating was very slow and by the time it heated the room we had already slept under a huge pile of blankets. The hotel also provided free internet.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur,India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

frankly speaking ,being on business trip , one hardly has any time to look around , the hoel was arranged by indian embassy ,again ther ewas nochoice but depending on avalibility and may me being a regualr hotel for visitors to embassy , it was chosen. Business went of well and all was fine. I then took a flight over andrews where the hotel was very helpful organising on short notice. Also,I wanted to see Japanese Garden at Santiago which their very nice driver showed with all details.
Food etc was alright , nothing special to mention. you get the value of money spent.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, CAN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We arrived in this hotel 2 days before the earthquake, and due to delayed flights had a stay of 6 nights longer than we had planned. On check-in we had a wonderful orientation from Alex, supervisor of the Reception. He spent at least 20 minutes answering questions and giving us tips etc.....it was most appreciated! He speaks English very well too! Our room (a triple) was a bit tight because of the additional single bed - however, as a double room it would be just fine. Decor was nice...a nice desk area, and flat screen TV. The bath had a separate room for bath and toilet which worked well for 3 adults! All in all we were very happy with the room.
The breakfast was included and was a buffet with fruit, pastries juice, coffee, ham, cheese and tomato slices - (quite the norm on our travels) ...however my husband was able to order fried eggs in the morning at no charge and he was thrilled! After 9 days we did need a change but frankly, nothing the hotel could do about the length of our stay!!
The location was convenient to the metro and bus stops and shopping. There were a few good restaurants in the area too, and even the hotel restaurant was fine for light meals. Servers at the hotel were very pleasant!
The hotel did not suffer much damage in the earthquake, however we did feel it was defficient in a couple of respects. First, there was no emergency lighting for the power outtage the night of the earthquake, and we felt the staff were perhaps not as prepared as they should be for this event. Guests congregated in the lobby but there was little communication from the staff, nor did they have flashlights, water or blankets - which would indicate some level of emergency training. It was difficult to know who was in charge. This can be rectified and maybe it was lack of communication more than anything.
Finally, the internet service was limited after the quake - yet was available at the hotel down the street. It is an extra charge as well, which in this day and age is most aggravating, but again minor in the overall experience.
We would definitely stay in the hotel again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Eurotel Providencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eurotel Providencia

Address: Guardia Vieja 285 | Providencia, Santiago 7510249, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Eurotel Providencia 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Eurotel Providencia, a 4 star hotel of European style. Opened in 1993 in order to receive guests in the ideal place for relaxation, business and tourism.It is presented as a modern, comfortable, warm and cozy in a prime location.Located in Providence "The business and tourist heart of Santiago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Eurotel Providencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurotel Hotel Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eurotel Providencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.