We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No surprises, a normal place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eurotel Providencia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eurotel Providencia to your Saves list
Eurotel Providencia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Guardia Vieja 285 | Providencia, Santiago 7510249, Chile (Providencia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 179 Hotels in Santiago
Goiania, GO
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“No surprises, a normal place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

A good hotel, organized, clean.
The staff has some attentive, others not as.
The location is good, safe, close to everything that a good residential neighborhood can offer.
There isn't a tourist district, agitated.
It's like the city really is.
The breakfast, follows the pattern of the country, Chile.
Quite unsuitable for the Brazilian flavor.
Coffee is not natural, but instant coffee, juices have much sugar , and no fresh fruit or yogurt.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    94
    54
    13
    13
See reviews for
46
75
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

They will charge for everthing, wifi, a 5 follar bottle of water

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Me and my wife went to Santiago to enjoy our first wedding anniversary.
The day before our anniversary we found out the shower was cold! They refused to give us another room where the shower was hot and suggested to we take our bath in the hotel´s gym! Lame, lame lame...
At the checkout, the airport shutter was waiting for us and there were a lot of orders we didn´t make! I don´t know how much bottles of wine, soup, sandwiches and other foods someone else ordered and they put it in our room bill!
Don´t go there!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Good things
Great location in Providencia
Handy to shops and subway system
Room (302) was a good size
Room was cleaned well and maintained well each day
Free internet access in the business centre
Breakfast included each day

Things that the hotel can do better
Restaurant - better customer service training required for most of the staff.
Restaurant - the restaurant manager / chef needs to know how different cultures like to drink their tea. In Australia, New Zealand, UK for example, hot tea with cold milk - never hot tea with hot milk. Often tea in restaurants is served in a smallish teapot say for 1 or 2 persons max, with the milk in a small jug. The customer may let the tea "brew" and pour it themselves and add their own milk
Restaurant - food handling. I did not see the chef use gloves for hygiene purposes. Cold cuts such as dairy products and meat products MUST be kept cold. ie, put the tray in a bed of ice to help stop bacteria forming. On every day we ate there, no dairy or meat products were cold. This has huge health concerns for anyone eating products that should be kept refrigerated at certain temperatures at all times
Restaurant - quality of food - not great. The worst was on Saturday morning when I got two pieces of bread. I was just about to butter it and found a large amount of green mould/fungus growing on the crust - around 2 - 3 cm long. Obviously the bread was stale, the mould had been growing for a while and the bread had not been kept in proper conditions. The croissants we ate instead of the bread were also stale. In either case, this SHOULD NEVER have happened in ANY restaurant. It made me feel sick about eating there again.

Front desk - when we initially checked in, the person at the front desk knew we had to leave by 6.30am on Monday 13th Dec. He said that breakfast started at 6.30 and he could perhaps arrange a light breakfast at 6.00am. That never happened.
Front desk - I asked for a 5am wake up call on 13th Dec, that never happened.
Front desk - we wanted to buy a HopOnHopOff bus ticket however we were told the hotel accepted cash only for this. We didd't have enough pesos and the amount quoted in US $ was high due to the exchange rate the hotel uses.
Front desk - we asked to pay in pesos on our credit card upon check out but the amount was rediculously high which basically forced us to accept that we would be charged in US$.

Room - we could not get the wake up call function on the phone to work.
Room - we were astounded to find the fridge locked - we didn't want to use the minibar but would have liked to put medicines in there. I did not feel inclined to ask for the bar fridge to be unlocked as I felt that if it was locked in the first place, the hotel must have had problems with guests not paying for what they used and I certainly didn't want to be accused of stealing anything.
On the first day after breakfast we found that our windows were open - they weren't open when we went to breakfast. Turns out the locks were shot and I asked the maid to call someone to fix them
Room - far too noisy - every night we were woken with people presumably coming from clubs yelling and screaming down the street. This happened without fail every night of our stay between 2am and 4am. While you cannot control what people will do outside the hotel, you can help to reduce the noise coming into the hotel with double glazing for example.

Bottom line
Would I recommend this hotel / stay in this hotel again - no - for the reasons above.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

The hotel is in a great location, close to a lot of shopping, restaurants and a safe area to walk around. The hotel lobby is nice. However, the hotel has some fundamental flaws. First, the rooms are very dated. The carpets are green, dirty and should be replaced. The draperies, bathroom, beds, are also very dated. The closest door in my room is broken. Overall, the rooms need a major makeover. There is also no free internet access in the rooms. You have to pay for it. But if you do, you can only use the username and password on one device at a time.

The hotel does include breakfast but then again this falls quite short to what I would expect based on where this hotel is situated and the surrounding hotels. They offer a buffet style breakfast but they don't offer staples like yogurt. In addition, they do not offer fruit juice, rather sugared fruit drink. The room service menu is also unappealing. I did not eat at the restaurant based on the room service menu and the breakfast but based on the quality of those offerings, I would suggest exploring many of the nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

My husband and I spent three days at his hotel. Location is excellent, in Providence, a medium-high class district. Business center, tourist information through a computer by the lobby (look for it). Breakfast included is buffet, monotonous though, coffe is not great deal and juice is not natural, but it solves the problem of breakfast in the morning in order to start the day. If you want something tasty, better, you can go to the Starbucks two blocks away. Also half block, on the same street there is a simple nice place, many kinds of bread and more.
In front of the hotel two or three small places for a beer or simple italian food, but there are much better places to go.
Parking is free beneath the same hotel, be sure to ask at reception how to open the door of the garage when you want to go out with the car (there is a rope hanging somewhere that opens the door).
This hotel has two buildings inside: a modern one and an old one, they even have separated elevators for this. The modern side has spacious nice rooms, but the other side offers smaller ooms with smaller beds, bathroom and not LCD television.
Just two blocks away you can reach Pedro Valdivia metro station. Metro in Santiago runs pretty good, though a little expensive. Clean, on time, spacious, not crowdy, the easiest way to go downtown, because it is difficult to park there.
Don´t miss Viña del Mar and Valpariso, 1 1/2 hour driving if you rent a car, or take a tour for around 28,000 pesos, around USD 50 a person. Same cost approximately to go visit vineyards and vine cellars like Indomita or Concha y Toro or Undurraga, make reservations for this.
Also visit big malls like Alto Las Condes and Parque Arauco. Food in Chile is not the best and a little expensive, I personally reccomend TANTA, at Parque Arauco, exquisite peruvian food.
Something we did not like was the quality of the service at reception. Receptionist did not offer us any tourist help: map of the city, places to go and visit, places to go and listen to chilean music, they did not spoke portuguese though we saw many brazilian tourists there,etc. we had to ask for every information and it was not enough and they were not very nice, not involved in a good service, they just did their job, like a person that is not happy with her job.
The worst part was that we payed half day for our room the first day, since we arrived before check in time, but they were making improvements on the terrace above our heads, we heard the hammer working like a torture for us who had had no sleep the night before, they forgot to let us know this detail...When we asked for an explanation they told us that the noise would continue also the day after!!! then they changed us room, but it was on the older part...so we were angry about this since we did not know about this when making reservations.
When leaving the hotel we did not receive any kind of compensation, they charged everything but did not receive anything as a discount or at least free bevearages from the small refrigerator in the room, or a complimentary bottle of wine, nothing for the noise and the smaller room with not LCD television.
So, a well located hotel, poor breakfast and poor receptionist service to tourists.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Our stay was very nice. The room was clean, nice, breakfast was very good. The hotel is very well located. Only the heating was very slow and by the time it heated the room we had already slept under a huge pile of blankets. The hotel also provided free internet.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurotel Providencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurotel Providencia

Address: Guardia Vieja 285 | Providencia, Santiago 7510249, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eurotel Providencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Eurotel Providencia, a 4 star hotel of European style. Opened in 1993 in order to receive guests in the ideal place for relaxation, business and tourism.It is presented as a modern, comfortable, warm and cozy in a prime location.Located in Providence "The business and tourist heart of Santiago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Eurotel Providencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurotel Hotel Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurotel Providencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.