We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good downtown budget hotel near attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Panamericano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Panamericano to your Saves list
Hotel Panamericano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Teatinos 320 | A Metros Del Palacio de la Moneda, Santiago, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 179 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good downtown budget hotel near attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a modest, clean, centrally located high-rise hotel frequented by budget-minded travelers. It seemed pretty full during our stay of about one week in Nov. & Dec., 2011. This hotel is conveniently close to most of Santiago´s major sights—the wonderful Pre-Columbian art museum, lovely municipal theater, Plaza de Armas, La Moneda, Barrio Paris-Londres. The hotel is only 5 blocks from the main subway line, and near two bus terminals. There are not many good restaurants nearby except for the wonderful Donde Augusto seafood restaurant in the nearby Municipal Market and the traditional Bar Nacional about 3 blocks from this hotel. Those who want to be near more restaurants and better shopping should consider staying in La Providencia or the more trendy Las Condes.
Pros—clean, decent size, good beds, hardwood floors, flat screen TV, desk, good service at reception, pretty good buffet breakfast, relatively inexpensive ($95 jr. suite).
Cons—Wi-Fi does not work in the rooms. There are two computers at reception that guests can use free, but they are pretty busy. The hotel blocks phone calls on Skype. My shower did not drain well but it didn’t fill up much.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

We are very glad you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

Regarding the lack of wifi and skype calls being blocked, we have passed this information to the proper department. Thanks for noticing it.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    336
    98
    17
    19
See reviews for
154
228
62
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We chose this hotel based on the generally complimentary reviews we had read. Unfortunately, our experience was not that good. The hotel is quite shabby and desperately in need of refurbishment. The bed linen on the twin beds in our room was too small for the beds, so within minutes it was in disarray. The air conditioner was the "in window" kind, so it got covered when you closed the curtains. Consequently, you had to stuff the curtains around the a/c unit just to allow the air to flow.

The bathroom was small, but functional. Unfortunately the toilet cistern frequently kept running. Amenities were not readily supplied. For example, the shampoo wasn't replaced until the current bottle was empty. Similarly, toilet paper wasn't readily provided. I presume we were expected to use the douchette. Contrary to what was said by another reviewer, I didn't find the towels and face washers fluffy. In fact, they were pretty much threadbare. And on the day we were checking out they disappeared from our room while we were having breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it was OK, but no where near as good as at the hotel we had stayed at in Buenos Aires. The dining area was quite unattractive, and very poorly laid out.

The hotel did provide free wifi, but unfortunately it was pretty flaky most of the time, so was not reliable.

The staff were generally helpful, although my lack of Spanish did make communication difficult. I'm sure I heard one of the porters rubbishing us for not speaking Spanish. Fair enough, although I would say in my defense that as an Australian I don't get much opportunity to speak Spanish, so developing and maintaining proficiency in Spanish would be hard.

But for us the worst thing about this hotel was the location. We arrived in Santiago on a Saturday, and downtown Santiago on the weekend is pretty much dead. In fact, we struggled to find appealing restaurants for dinner most nights. Downtown is great for easy access to Plaza de Armas and surrounding cultural attractions, but it's not really a great place to stay if you're looking for restaurants at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

We are very sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel didn't live up to your expectations. We take all the comments very seriously and appreciate you took the time to share them with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We will use them as a tool to further improve our service.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Greeted by a staff member who seemed annoyed by our arrival - great start. I asked him very simple questions and he seemed completely overwhelmed and just stared at me. II wanted to shake the man and wake him up!!! Upon entering our room we were greeted by a thick cloud of cigarette smoke - fantastic for 3 non smokers! Everything reeked of cigarettes - it seemed like someone had JUST lit up in there. The smell ensued for the rest of our stay. Breakfast was fine, the hotel is in a good location but the service and the room quality .... how do I put this eloquently?....leave much to be desired. Get some friendlier front desk staff, some stronger cleaning products to get rid of that disgusting smell (air freshener... isn't quite cutting it) and some new hair dryers in the bathrooms !!! THE ONLY good thing about the Panamericano was that they had some strawberry juice for breakfast in the mornings which was delicious. Really. The only good thing I can say about this hotel was their breakfast juice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

We are very sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel didn't live up to your expectations. We take all the comments very seriously and appreciate you took the time to share them with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We will use them as a tool to further improve our service.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Great hotel and good value.
Room was excellent - only fault was not quite enough heating
Staff were lovely and helped me out - instructing taxi drivers etc so I could get places I wanted to go even with my lack of Spanish.

This is in a business district and it was hard to find dinner out on Saturday and Sunday evenings. It would be fine on weekday nights.

The restaurant was not well run or managed. They seemed to be struggling to cope with miscellanous people wandering around while they were trying to cook and nobody was doing any kind of seating or welcoming of guests.
Nevertheless, I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

Thanks for sharing your comments with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. We take them very seriously as a tool to further improve ourselves.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We spent two lovely nights at this boutique hotel. The equipment in the room was magnificent. Fluffy white towels and face washers and quality shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. The proprietor was well informed and helpful and quick to see needs. The breakfast was delicious but receptionist in here wasn’t helpful so much, we ordered 2 bottles milk and waited until the next morning to receive it. However overall we enjoyed our stay and appreciated the experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

We are very glad you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

really good price for a good hotel, very helpful, good location.
Really small rooms (like Paris or New York), but ok.
Good breakfast buffet!
Not really a designer hotel, but everything you need. Free WIFI in lobby and rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

We are very glad you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

staff were not bilingual, but helpful all the same. hotel is in nice area and near subway for greater access.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi Fran,

Thanks for your comments. We are very glad to hear that overall you enjoyed staying with us. We take all the comments very seriously and appreciate you took the time sharing them with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We will use your comments regarding the staff not being bilingual as a tool to further improve ourselves.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Panamericano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panamericano

Address: Teatinos 320 | A Metros Del Palacio de la Moneda, Santiago, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panamericano 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panamericano Santiago de Chile is located in the heart of the Centro or Downtown Santiago. The Hotel is located within walking distance from the Government Palace, one of the safest areas of the capital of Chile, which is the Financial, Cultural, Civic and Trade center of the country.Hotel Panamericano stands out among the many deals in hotels in Santiago since it incorporates a full range of hotel services, features 170 cozy and spacious rooms and modern "Junior Suites", tourism services in Santiago and its surroundings, car park, laundry, gym and boxing school for executives, meeting rooms, conference rooms, meeting rooms and rooms for marriages. We have a luxurious VIP meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Panamericano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Hotel Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Panamericano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.