We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very tired looking hostal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellavista Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bellavista Hostel to your Saves list
The Bellavista Hostel
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Dardignac 0184 | Providencia, Santiago 7520361, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location but very tired looking hostal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

As other reviewers have said, the hostal is quite run down (sockets hanging off the wall, paint flaking and bathrooms generally tired looking). On the plus side if you want to be right in the thick of it with great bars, restaurants etc then the location is perfect for you and comparatively it's good value compared to hotels in the neighbourhood. The staff are also very helpful and can book you on all the tours heading north/south.

However, we stayed here on a stopover night between flights and found those plus points to be major detractions once you've gone to bed as it is very noisy in the area and the hostal has virtually no sound insulation.

We know the hostal is struggling to stay in an up and coming neighbourhood but it really is badly in need of a refurb.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors or at the back of the adjacent building if your after a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ngonz, General Manager at The Bellavista Hostel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our great location during your stay. Like you mentioned, we are trying hard to keep our budget hostel for backpackers and independent travelers open in this particular area. That said, we couldn't agree more that we were in need of renovations and are happy to announce that we are in the process of refurbishing bathrooms, kitchen and common areas. Guest rooms will follow. We hope you get the chance to visit us again in the future.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    71
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
3
36
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zoetermeer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The hostel had dorms, but we slept in a double room with shares bathroom. The place is clean, rooms are big. The staff is friendly and speak English. The surroundings are Great, close to the cerro and bars in Bellavista. Good price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at the Bellavista hostel for 6 nights and this was me and my friends last stop of our trip. All I can say is, what a wonderful end to our travels. We were wowed from Bellavista the moment we walked in. Firstly, the décor of the place is beautiful..colourfully decorated with flags and posters all through the reception.

We were shown to our 6 bed female dorm which was extremely spacious and included a private bathroom. The staff were very helpful, marked places on maps for us and recommended good places for lunch etc. They have these free walking tours aswell which are fantastic..gives you a feel for the area and is useful for getting around. One of the receptionists, Paul, made dinner for everyone at the hostel one night - spicy chicken curry - which was delicious!

On our last night, we decided to do a pubcrawl (I mean who can leave Santiago without doing one of these!), was definetly a highlight and all in all, really enjoyed our stay in Chile. If you want a nice hostel with friendly staff in a nice area, would definetly recommend the Bellavista Hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights.The hostel is in nice place in Bario Bodeguano in Santiago,Cile
Its in quiet street but again just on 100meters from the night life with many pubs,bars and restaurants.The city centre is on half hour walking.The staff is helpfull,hostel spacious and clean,hot showers.The breakfast is very basic only jam and butter!

Room Tip: towards the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonyc32
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here for two nights before heading into Argentina.

It's a typical hostel. It's gives the impression of being a bit run down but it's not dirty.

I would say it needs some renovation.

Laundry tip: It costs 4000 CLP to do laundry here (wash and dry) and you can only do the laundry after 4pm as the cleaners need to use the machines. There is one washer and one dryer.

Just take your laundry 200m down the same road and before you hit Pio Nono there is a laundrette on the right. 4600 CLP and they will do up to 4KG of laundry. Drop it off on the afternoon and pick it up a few hours later washed perfectly and folded. No queues or wahing machine dramas!

Room Tip: The 8 bed dorm has the balcony / roof area right next to it so if guests are up late you could be ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

you can tell the area has gentrified and the hostel is struggling to keep survive in its prime location as it is. However, the rooms are clean, the staff is helpful and they offer extremely fast wifi. I had a blast here and couldn't have asked for a better location to explore Santiago.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good location, earplugs provided for noisy nights. BBQ offered sometimes. Rooftop terrace is pleasant but dirty.

This hostel needs maintenance. Seems like it may have been a good hostel once but noone has bothered to keep it maintained or properly cleaned in a while. the upstairs toilet smelled like a long distance bus toilet generally.
The only worthwhile staff member was the blond american guy who was really helpful, the others were uninterested in guests needs. We reported that there was no toilet paper in the upstairs loo and were told to go to another toilet. The toilet seat was broken off for a day and a half- somehow the cleaner didnt notice it was broken and it wasnt until we reported it that someone took notice.
Security was poor- the balcony door to our double room didnt lock at all.
BBQ was OK, but a cheap cut of meat. Plenty of food and wine though.
The cleaner /breakfast ladies sat around eating at breakfast while the milk, bread and cornflakes ran out and while there werent enough seats (if they got up there would have been enough). I guess their job was to eat the breakfast, not provide it to guests?!

Room Tip: Double rooms facing the street are noisy on a friday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bellavista Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellavista Hostel

Address: Dardignac 0184 | Providencia, Santiago 7520361, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bellavista Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellavista offers the right way to visit the city's trendiest district. In the heart of Barrio Bellavista, our hostel is steps away from the most cultural points Santiago has to offer. Our barrio is packed with chic restaurants, stylish bars and trendy boutiques. We have private double rooms and dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Bellavista Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellavista Hotel Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bellavista Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.