We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Ritz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz Carlton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz Carlton to your Saves list
The Ritz Carlton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Alcalde 15 | Las Condes, Santiago, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 179 Hotels in Santiago
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Value Ritz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very good service, though sometimes front desk is overwhelmed by incoming and rooms not available for some time, which is exacerbated by early AM arrivals from USA. Bed rooms and baths tastefully done and aways very clean. For early arrivals to consider - Complimentary Spa with nice swiming pool on top floor with great view of city, jaccuzi, showers, towels, toiletries, changing rooms, health food bar, quite modest exercise area, good not great massages/not cheap. The Ritz bar off the lobby is great for wonderful sandwiches, drinks, really good!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    185
    53
    24
    15
See reviews for
105
287
31
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent our 25th wedding anniversary and it was well worth the price. Romantic, sophisticated and well served with a late check out. It's nice to walk about the neighborhood with plenty of good restaurants to pick from. The hotel bar is nice and allows you to sit outdoors. We had lunch there on the terrace and it was quite enjoyable. Good pisco sours!

Room Tip: We paid an additional to use the services on the 2nd floor where we had wines, champagne and snacks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights after traveling extensively through Argentina and it was a magnificent experience. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable with many great cafes within walking distance. The Executive Lounge provides an excellent breakfast each morning and a nice service in late afternoon. Great property.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I will admit, the Ritz was our second option after the W told us they didn't have any non-smoking rooms available, but we were ultimately satisfied with our stay here and glad how things worked out. The hotel is in a great location if you are ok not being in the heart of Santiago (the area has more of a business district feel), with the subway (which is very easy to use) only being about 100 feet away. The service at the hotel was friendly and accommodating enough and the rooms were clean enough, albeit they felt like they could use an update. The restaurants at the hotel (which I will review separately) were also solid (the room service food was just ok). The hotel will also arrange for a car to pick you up at the airport and you can charge it directly to your room, which is nice, especially if you do not have any Chilean pesos (note though, the driver may try to sell you on a personal tour, which is a bit annoying).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My stay at the Ritz was luxurious and very restful. Travel between the U.S. and South America is physically demanding. The Ritz was tranquil and the service was extremely good.

My bed was very, very comfortable. Plush. Soft, yet supportive. The high thread count bed linens were soft. The rooms were quiet - there was no noise from the hallway or from adjoining rooms (unlike some other supposed "top-tier" hotels I have experienced).

Front desk service was prompt and extremely courteous.

The television accepted a HDMI cable from my laptop, so I was able to watch my own movies in the evening.

Internet service was very good.

The location within the city was good - plenty of nearby restaurants and safe areas for walking (I will say that I have never felt unsafe in Santiago).

My only knock on the Ritz is the external architecture of the build - very, very bland. Nothing like the old-world architecture I see in Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We were delayed on our flight so overnighted here in Los Condos next to the El Gulf metro line. The hotel is your usual 5 star "old world" style but the pricing for ancillary services is rediculous. US$4.50 for a local call, US$90.00 for a burger and salad, 2 glasses of wine and an apple crumble, and just 3 hours free wifi. After that you pay US$ 40.00 a day....robbery when the starbucks acrosss the road is free.

I really have an issue with hotels extorting their guests, then again, if you choose to stay, you choose to pay. I had similar issues with the nigtht staff. The phones was not answered and the free wifi password had to be reset 3 times and took 40 minutes to access. Hardly efficient or what you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this centrally located hotel. The staff warmly greeted us and were very helpful. The room was a bit tired but the bed and pillows were so comfortable. I had the best sleep. It was what you expected from the ritz. The goat cheese pizza was to die for. We had a nice assortment of tapas sitting outside. The breakfast that came with the room was fantastic. Fresh and delicious fruits, cereals, breads and hot food to order.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Carlton

Address: El Alcalde 15 | Las Condes, Santiago, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santiago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#4 Business Hotel in Santiago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz Carlton 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the exclusive business district, El Golf. 205 elegant appointed rooms, including 52 Ritz Carlton Club level rooms and 15 Executive Suites. Meeting facilities includes 8500 sq ft of flexible space and Technology Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Santiago Hotel Santiago
Santiago Ritz Carlton
Ritz Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.