We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and tiny room but adequate for overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago to your Saves list
Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eliodoro Yanez 867, Santiago 7500683, Chile (Providencia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 179 Hotels in Santiago
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Poor service and tiny room but adequate for overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel was organised by our travel agent for a quick 24 hour layover! Situated in a decent area with nice restaurants nearby within walking distance (try Asia Lima for dinner)! The reception staff are miserable, not really interested in conveying any information. The lift worked (old school) which was a plus as we were on the 3rd floor. There is a lot of street and corridor noise and the rooms are ridiculously small although clean and neat!! The pillows were soft and the bed reasonable comfortable although again, very small (a double). The bathroom is ridiculously small with a bath tub that you can only fit in with your legs over the side and the toilet you need to side saddle! Breakfast was ok and included and had a good variety.

Room Tip: Higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    46
    19
    8
See reviews for
25
51
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

When we arrived, the elevator was broken so we had to carry our luggage all the way up to the third floor. None of the staff helped us. The elevator broke down almost every day during our stay. The rooms were really tiny and the tub was too small for an adult. We arranged a taxi to the airport on the last day and the guy at the front desk said the price was 20,000 pesos. We thought it was higher than expected but he said it's for the best if we wanted to be safe. Later we asked another staff about the taxi and he said it was only 15,000 pesos! He apologized for his colleague's blatant attempt to rip us off, but it was too late. Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The neighborhood is excellent. The hotel is very clean, so is its rooms. The room service is great and the breakfast is satisfied. All stuff that we need the hotel provided us and all the employees treated us well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you can't stay elsewhere, splurge on an executive room - more spacious and seemingly of newer accoutrement than the others. I stayed for three nights. The place is in some disrepair, quite dirty in public areas and the level of service - really, the attitude of the front-desk personnel - verged on abysmal. The impression they gave was that they're either unhappy to work there or they're just irritated to have guests. Their stock answer to the two recommendations I sought was an adjacent part of Providencia - Manuel Montt - that was generally as dreary as they. I had time for some tourism and I took advantage of it, quickly ruling out their peculiar suggestions, and experienced fine people and service elsewhere. Overall, the individual room was OK but the ambience and the attitude of those there to serve brought it way down in stardom toward the dirt. I had a choice of sorts once I was there to leave for a better place but I preferred to steer clear of that hassle and to steer as clear of the less than cheerful. You might do better just to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

They were oneof the few placeswith space during zlollpalooza, pribably because they are a mid-range, not backpackers-range, price point. We were given a great room with a very comfortable bed, perfect wifi, air conditioning; computer/printer for guest use downstairs, offices/meeting rooms available, very nice breakfast included. We had a private baño for US$85 total.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed 4 nights here then the following week ,one night.The first stay was in a back quiet room.The 2nd stay was in a front room.This is an old fashioned hotel in need of a makeover,however it is clean and the location is good.
There is about a 20 minute walk to the bella Vista restaurant area,and the San Cristobal hill is just behind these.
The staff were quite helpful and one spoke english,the other man would use the computer translator to help you both understand what had been said.
The lobby internet computer is free to use, and the breakfast which was included in the room price was good and included a hot selection.
The room was a reasonable price but we would probably pay more and stay in a newer hotel next time.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the front of the hotel.There is too much noise as you are above the hotel l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We had a 20-hour stopover in Santiago and needed a place to stay. It's not the nicest or the cleanest (and the restaurant is average as well), but they were nice enough to give us our room at 7am when we were in desperate need for sleep. Walking distance to Pio Nono where there are some great restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago

Address: Eliodoro Yanez 867, Santiago 7500683, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 179 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location in one of the most strategic sectors of the Providencia neighbourhood, walking distance from the Salvador subway station, Hotel Presidente Santiago permits the traveller better accessibility to every point in the city. Enjoy the welcoming terraced interiors and its high quality restaurant, together with all the commodities for the business traveller or tourist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Santiago
Golden Tulip Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.