We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views, Comfortable Beds and Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santiago Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Santiago Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Santiago Marriott Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Presidente Kennedy 5741, Santiago, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, Comfortable Beds and Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Pros; Great views, nice hotel and attentive staff
Cons: Its a bit out from the attractions.
I had the pleasure of staying at the Santiago Marriott 3 nights :April 13-16th, 2011. The room number was 1705 and had a spectacular view of the Andes, was very spacious, had a super comfortable bed (King) and bath.
Note: that if you are not a reward upgrade member, the internet fee is $14 a day...and if you are you may want to request a room higher up. One of my traveling companions went with the upgrade to a two room suite but didn't have much of a view as they ended up on the 8th floor.
We had an overnight flight from the states and arrived at the hotel around 10:00am, very tired, only to learn that no rooms were available and the wait was over two hours. Luckily our corporation includes the upgrade that gave us access to the excecutive lounge...if you can make ,be sure you go.. its on the 23rd floor and the views are wonderful (especially at sunset). Breakfast is plentiful in the lounge as are evening appetizers and drinks. Try the delicous pisco sours or one of the Chilean wines (Caremene). All items in the lounge are available at no cost.
Behind the hotel and across the street is a beautiful park complete with a marvelous rose garden with fountains, be sure to follow the path (away from the Andes) which leads to a childern's play area...the reward here is an outdoor aviary full of color parrots and furry footed roosters.
We ate one evening in the hotel resturant (upper level I can't recall the name)...but the meal was wonderful; Starter was grilled watermelon with port wine reduction and grilled crab...it was devine (who would have thought to grill watermelon.), grilled sea bass was the main dish and was nicely done. Sparkling wine is included with your meal (not the best, but was a nice touch). We also had a nice bottle of Chilean wine. The wait staff was very attentive and friendly.
There was live music in the lobby lounge each night but we didn't stay to listen.
There is a nice mall about one block from the hotel...we walked there several times in the evening. One night there was a live concert near the fountains in tthe outdoor center of the mall. We also booked a tour from Tourstik there - Hop on/off City tour.
Following a tip from one of our local colleagues...we went to the market next store . A big white and geen buidling (note the bottom is essentailly a Home Depot, but there is a full grocery store on the top level...enter from the mall side of the street...up the stairs) there we purchased Chilean wine and pisco brandy to bring home...its was a lot cheaper than the wineries charge when you do the tours. We did do several wine tours...very nice activity...but the same wine in the shops there were more expensive.
Only con: its a ways out from many of the main attractions like Plaza Armas. But tourstik tour (hop on/off) at the mall , made all of the locations doable.
Note: By American Standards getting in any taxi for a trip anywhere is like getting on a wild scary amusement part ride...but its just how they drive. The subway is clean, efficent but over 5 blocks away (I did ride the subway later in the week after I moved to a Bed and Breakfast, the Casa Bonita which is a different review).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    257
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
89
229
37
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

PROs:
- great location with a view
wakeup every morning with mountains overlooking my window..
im lovin it..
near shopping mall (fallabella and one more mall that i forgot the name)
walking distance 5 minutes
-affordable price
-comfortable bed and spacious room
- good and responsive staff

Room Tip: early booking
See more room tips
Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Very Nice hotel. Clean, spacious, great location. Service is efficient although not friendly.
I would definetly come back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011 via mobile

Spent a week at a business meeting. Everyone was super friendly. The waitstaff in the lobby lounge got to know us & our drink orders (which may have not been a good thing :-D)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night before catching a cruise ship. The gal at the registration desk asked if we were celebrating anything special, so we told her that my husband had retired two weeks before and that it was also his birthday the day before. The associate said she had a surprise for us and that we would be able to see it when we got to our room. To our amazement, she had upgraded us to the Presidential Suite! Just this small gesture made us a fan of this hotel for life. Obviously the management empowers their personnel to make accommodations for their guests to ensure a memorable stay.

The Concierge also recommended and arranged for us to dine at an amazing restaurant Astrid & Gaston. The food was simply fabulous and we are serious foodies and aren't impressed easily.

This was truly a memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boqueron, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel before in 2005, it was wonderful then and more wonderful this time around. Since then it has been remodeled and updated. The staff is excellent and by far one of the best we have ever encounted on a trip. The hotel is beautiful and very well located with a beautiful view of the Andes. The view from the room was spectacular with the city view on one side and the mountains on the other. That is a priceless moment. So if you visit Santiago no matter if it is a cruise layover or a couple of days this is the best place in town, the Marriott Way.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for three weeks while on business. The hotel worked very well for that purpose. While not near tourist sights, it was easily accessible. The room included a complimentary breakfast that was comprehensive and was quite tasty. I had a corner room that gave a wonderful view of the mountains. There is a grocery store on the corner and a mall with restaurants down the road. While the restaurants were generally chains, the hotel is a coule minutes drive from more local restaurants. The front desk staff was very helpful with recommendations. The room was clean and well maintained and the bed was very comfortable. Whlle I was able to get free wi-fi it required signing up for a 'package'. It was a little inconvenient and it would have been better to just have free wi-fi for all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santiago Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Marriott Hotel

Address: Av Presidente Kennedy 5741, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santiago
#2 Business Hotel in Santiago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Santiago Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santiago Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Santiago
Santiago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santiago Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.