We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could be nicer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Santiago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Santiago to your Saves list
InterContinental Santiago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Vitacura 2885 | Las Condes, Santiago 7550024, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #65 of 179 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
perth
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice but could be nicer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here recently. Location is exceptional as in a quiet leafy area close to good shopping and a selection of excellent restaurants.
Staff friendly and pleasant to deal with.
However on entering our room we were encounter with a musty, earthy smell. I thought air conditioning might assist however the air conditioning was noisy, unable to be adjusted and ran full force with a rattling noisy fan. Choice was a very cold noisy room or no air conditioning at all.
The " technical person" sent to the room explained there was a technical problem which could not be fixed till Monday. Given this was Saturday I thought a change of room might be warranted. This however was not offered but when I approached staff an hour later they readily agreed to a change of room. In this instance I thought this initiative should have come from them and not as the result of a request from me.
Club room was relaxing and enjoyable. Staff very helpful in the main but perhaps a little inexperienced in key areas.
I would stay again but would also request the Executive Club Tower. I believe Intercontinental Santiago just needs to lift its game in a couple of key areas if it wants to be up there with the better hotels in the city.
Dustoff 70

Room Tip: Request the Executive Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCLHA, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Santiago, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest : dustoff70,

Thank you for posting your feedback after your stay with us.- We highly appreciate the feedback of our guests.

Our Hotel is currently going through a renovation to satisfy our guests’ needs. It’s good to know that you were still able to enjoy your stay in the newer tower (Club Tower) after encountering some inconveniences at your arrival.

We are taking in consideration the issues you have brought up to our knowledge and we will be making the proper changes as reinforcing our staff and the proper procedures in these circumstances.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Best Regards,

Juan Riquelme Silva

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    161
    97
    42
    19
See reviews for
27
142
29
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Intercontinental in Santiago de Chile is a great hotel, located in a very nice neighborhood close to two malls considered the best in Santiago. The staff is absolutely friendly, well trained and with the best customer service, very attentive to details. You can't get this kind of service in many places in South America. The buffet breakfast is fantastic. The hotel has three Restaurants with a great variety of menus, from the Asian to the international food. Don't miss the pisco sour at the bar. I will recommend to get a room at the new tower. A totally five stars hotel!!!! Thanks for making my stay a wonderful experience. If I go back I will stay there.

Room Tip: In the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCLHA, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Santiago, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest: npppan,

Thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at our Hotel, We do very much value the feedback of our guests and we appreciate it.

Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay, we are happy to know that our staff is helpful and could provide you with a good service. Also thank you for the positive comments about our restaurants and our Bar ( In specialy Pisco Sour ). Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make you feel at home, and we look forward to see you again.

Best Regards,

Juan Riquelme Silva
Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Really a beautiful hotel in excellent condition and wonderful amenities. Bathroom was incredible and so nice I would like to take it home with me. Staff and room service were outstanding as well. Modern decor and fresh look!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCLHA, Guest Service at InterContinental Santiago, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback, we always value the comments/reviews as it’s our way to improve and satisfy the staying for our guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Alan Carrasco
Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel is showing its age. There are two wings... old and new. I haven't been to the new one (2 years old) but the old wing is in need of remodeling. The plus is that the rooms are large.

The hotel's location is a big plus. It's very safe and many great restaurants are a few blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCLHA, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Santiago, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Mr. David L

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
It is unfortunate you were not satisfied with your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

I would like to comment that InterContinental Santiago began the renovation of the old wing that you mention and we will soon have an innovative tower so that our guests enjoy the best comfort. We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding our location and security.
We consider your comments as a compliment that helps us to continue with our job.

Again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope you will continue to use InterContinental Santiago Hotels as your lodging of choice, and look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to change your mind.

Kind Regards,


Javier Bravo
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Muy buen Hotel,
No pierdan ir al restaurante Tempel bar, muy rica comida.
Exelente atencion en todo el hotel
excellent hotel, can really recomend this and do not miss to go to their restaurant called Temple Bar
excellent attitude throughout the hotel

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCLHA, General Manager at InterContinental Santiago, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Maxi
Muchas gracias por sus buenos comentarios y nos complace saber que usted se sienta a gusto en nuestro hotel. Es siempre grato recibir el feedback de nuestros huéspedes.
Gracias por elegirnos y por sus palabras.
Atentamente.

Juan Riquelme S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Admittedly, I don't usually stay at IHG hotels when I travel internationally for business. However, my wife and I decided to use the points I had accumulated during my domestic business travel to take a vacation in a part of the world we had never seen. The Intercontinental far exceeded my expectations from the moment we arrived. The concierge, Walter Ramos, was fantastic. He saw to our every need and did so with genuine concern. The rest of the staff are to be commended, as well. Everyone took genuine pride in their respective positions. We stayed in the "Club Tower," which was a nice suprise. Becuase I havn't stayed in an Intercontinental in the U.S. I was unaware of this feature. There was a complimentary breakfast in the Club Lounge and a complementary cocktail service in the evenings in the lounge with appitizers. Great location, as well. The walk to the Tobalaba metro stop only took ten minutes. An excellent "home base" while we explored the city and surrounding region. I was so impressed that I am going to make reservations at the Intercontinental in Shanghai, Shenzhen, and Beijing the next time I travel there on business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCLHA, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Santiago, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Trevor

We want to thank you first of all for taking your time to give us such an excellent feedback.
Our concierge is there to provide services to our guests and it makes us more then happy to know that sir. Walter and his colleagues did their job,
By making you and your wife satisfied in terms of providing all your needs.
Our location is genuine for site seeing and exploring world cuisine, and we thank you for taking notice in these types of details.

Our staff will be informed and we thank you for choose our hotel. We wish you the best and enjoy the travelling around the world.

Best Regards,

Juan Riquelme S.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed twice in the las two years without complains. The location is great, close to restaurants in Isidora Goynochea.
If you have the chance, pay some extra money for the upgrade that put you in the new tower on the left, which has larger and nicer rooms. Breakfast is then included in a nicer and more intimate location. The gym is also great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCLHA, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Santiago, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest Terpnos,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are happy to know that you had a great stay in our hotel,
I would also like to thank you for your honesty and candid observations.

Our staff will be pleased to read your comments and know that you appreciate their job.

We thank you for staying at Hotel InterContinental and we hope to see you soon .

Best Regards,


Juan Riquelme S.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Santiago

Address: Avenida Vitacura 2885 | Las Condes, Santiago 7550024, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#41 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Santiago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FASHIONABLE ELEGANCE IN PRESTIGIOUS EL GOLF The new financial district is a fitting locale for InterContinental Santiago, one of the city's most elegant hotels. Upscale shops and restaurants share the neighborhood, and top attractions such as San Cristobal Hill, Plaza de Armas and La Moneda Presidential Palace are nearby. You can be skiing in under an hour or sailing the ocean in less than two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santiago Hotel Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Santiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.