We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, not my favorite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Avenido B O'Higgins | P.O. BOX 488-correo 21, Santiago, Chile (Santa Lucia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not my favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you like modern, minimalist hotels with "something else", this is not for you. This is an honest, clean, good hotel, but not that exciting. The rooms are large and clean. Breakfast is average, Wi-fi connection was unstable in my room.
It is and truly feels like a big old 5 star hotel from one of the big hotel chains.
Location is OK, in the city centre, close to the subway and to Providencia, a nice bohemian neighborhood. After a few days in Santiago, it was clear to me that there would be better, newer locations.

In other words, I did not love it, but wasn't very excited either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest Arielmorg;

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Santiago, and for posting a review about our property.
We appreciate your comments and I am pleased you liked the location as well as the room size and the cleanliness of our hotel.
We note your comment about internet and we can tell you that now we are in process to update our internet system to improve the quality of service.
We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Sincerely.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    249
    71
    17
    3
See reviews for
119
184
50
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel is located in the center of town. It is a very modern facility. The room were a good size, clean and quiet. We were on the 10th floor and had a good view overlooking the city. A electronic safe is located in the closet as is the mini bar and small coffee pot.

They have a business center for Wifi, and is available is some rooms.

The restaurant is very well appointed, with large seating area. Breakfast was buffet style with a very large selection of items. Another good place to make a sandwich if you need one during the day.

Front desk is very helpful. I had trouble with my global phone signal and needed to call Verizon in the US. They told me to buy a Chile Phone card, bring it to them and they would dial it for me, thus I wouldn't have to pay for dialing from the room. It was a long call, and they saved me a lot of expense. The most helpful front desk help I've experienced in some time. They were excellent.

Everything was top notch at this location!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest Norb W:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your good experience in our hotel, we appreciate your positive comments about our staff and service, we feel very proud that you had an excellent stay in our Hotel and we will share your comments with them.

We look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed here for 1 night. I had cashed in points for the one night so it was totally free. The hotel is very large and very nice. It has a great location, so close to good shopping and great restaurants. The room was comfortable and it was clean. It was decent size room on a high floor with a very nice view. The staff were very nice and very helpful. I am a Priority Club Platinum Elite member which has nice perks including free wifi, late checkout and a welcome bottle of wine in the room. We had a late flight on the day of checkout and were not able to extend the late checkout any later so the hotel just stored our luggage for us until we were ready to leave. I enjoyed the one night we had at this hotel especially since it was free. I do not know how much it is if you pay but it really is a good place to stay. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for reviewing our property and tell about your good experience with us.
It is always great to have a good feedback from our clients and hear that they enjoyed our facilities, our people and our services.
And Thanks for recommending Crowne Plaza Santiago

I look forward to welcoming back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here 11/8/2013 for 3 nights. Busy location and convenient. Was on a tour. Found the accommodations quite adequate. Great view from the room. My bed was nice and firm. Able to make tea in my room (not a feature in any of the South American hotels I stayed at after this. Wi-fi was very good. I was able to get free Wi-Fi because I remembered I had stored a Golden Crown number in my Dropbox.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest Memaday;

Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay with us, we are happy to know that you had good experience in our hotel and you liked our location and accommodations.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
428 reviews 428 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

First the good: Rooms were up to date and the view to the east of the Andes was interesting. Convenience goods are close by and restaurants and attractions are easy to walk to. The not so good: The carpeting in the halls is ratty. The power (including AC) went out one night for several hours, ostensibly because of utility work in the area. WiFi was $10 a night. Adjacent to the hotel is a grungy shopping area, at least by U.S. Standards. Final note: Unlike most of the places we stayed in S. America, you get washcloths!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest GPBurdell67

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed our view, rooms and found our location convenient. On the other hand, my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the air conditioning and the electricity problem. Your comments are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Here for 3 nights. I had a fantastic room with the most amazingly comfortable bed. Staff are wonderful, and there is really nothing bad about this place. It's really well placed for shopping and seeing Santiago too. I don't recognise the reviews saying it's dated at all. Fantastic hotel and fantastic hotel team.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest Ddraig:

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am very pleased that you were so happy with your stay and you loved Chile.

We feel very satisfied when we are able to exceed our guest’s expectations and provide a personalized and quality service.
It will be a big pleasure for our team to have you back with us in the near future.

We look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for an event recently. Even though it's considered one of the oldest hotel in Santiago, the rooms have been refurbished with modern design and the staff are efficient and very friendly. I particularly love the buffet lunch and the restaurant's staff who are all very attentive and helpful. I didn't try the spa but my friend raved about it, and loved the masseuse! ;p

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown, near the Metro and about 20 minutes walk to the Santa Lucia Handicraft Market and a few blocks from the Santa Lucia Hill. The famous Plaza Italia and Bella Vista area, which are filled with restaurants and bars, are just few minutes walk from the hotel.

Value for money if you want to see the happening side of Santiago ;p

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest Ezzthetics;

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback.

We are happy to know that you had a great stay in our hotel, and you enjoyed our lunch and our service. Our staff will be pleased to read your comments and know that you appreciate their job.

I really hope you can come back to our property and enjoy again all our facilities and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago

Address: 136 Avenido B O'Higgins | P.O. BOX 488-correo 21, Santiago, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#27 Family Hotel in Santiago
#35 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Santiago Hotel is ideally located in midtown Santiago at the entrance to Providencia and the principal stree area, the business and cultural center of the city. Our rooms offer spectacular views of the city and the Andean Mountain Range. Rooms are equipped with high speed internet dataports upon request, WI-FI, two-line telephone, coffee-maker, iron and ironing board. Only minutes away from the Downtown area we are ideally located close to shopping and business, government offices, very close to the Presidential Palace 'La Moneda'. Two blocks away from the Metro Station and Santiago's best tourist areas. Come visit us, at the Crowne Plaza Santiago Hotel and enjoy our five star service, whether on business or leisure, we will make your stay an unforgettable one. Bienvenidos a su casa en el Crowne Plaza Santiago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Santiago
Santiago Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Santiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.