We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bread” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Fournil

Le Fournil
Av. Manquehue North No. 1410 | South Tower 2nd Floor, Santiago, Chile
022-2201940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #682 of 2,813 Restaurants in Santiago
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, French, Café, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is quite difficult to find tasty bread in Chile. The fournil provides it for a price. (Note for vegeterians: avoid street bread and empanada sellers, as manteca -animal fat- is part of the recipe.)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“even a chain restaurant can be very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

excellent restaurant, in a quite handy location. The food is usually great. They have a good menu at a reasonable price on the working days (6-7000 CLP including an entree, a main dish, a drink and a dessert).

I also suggest the great brunch menu', good enough to fill you up at a very good price. On top of that, try the sandwich bar is excellent and cheap. And the bread is by far the best I found in Chile and the only one that I can eat in industrial quantities :). The waivers are professional and the place is quite nice. This restaurant is usually a bit better organized then the other of the chain I tried, that are also good but not "that" good. It is really worth a try. The environment is friendly, specially outside.

As my office is nearby I visited it at least 10 times, finding always the same level of services and quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“french scent in a great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Lovely bistro type restaurant, great outdoor sitting and the service polite and well informed. French stlye food, nice salds and best sanwiches. Enjoy a beer outside under the trees and let the day pass.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Reasonable value chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

They have some reasonable selections for vegetarians, which is not the case in many Chilean restaurants. I quite like their onion soup.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“We won't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Bread and pastries at Le Fournil are really good, no doubt about it. As a Belgian expat, I'm grateful for that! On the other hand, after I ate there 3 times with different people, I feel comfortable to say that at their bistrot, the food is so-so, the same for the service.

The salad is not fresh. The edges are brown, it's mostly made of crunchy watery parts (which I also like) and some leaves are extremely "tired". The type of cheap pale salad you buy already chopped in a bag. The composition itself and the quality of the ingredients are not impressive either. I'd expect that kind of dish at Denny's or Applebees, not from a so-called "french bistrot". The spinach quiche is not bad but not super good either, mostly heavy, really heavy; portion is generous (way too much) and comes with a salad (yay!). On the positive side, it seems that the oysters gratinee were nice.

Most of the time, waiters are not friendly, I never felt welcome. Service is slow and they messed up our order once.

Next time I have to meet a friend, it won't be at Le Fournil - bistrot, as convenient as it is, there are other good places close by. Sure the terrace is not as nice but food and service are way better.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Fournil also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Le Fournil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Fournil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.