We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian food at the end of the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel of India

Jewel of India
Av. Manuel Montt 1007 | Av. Manuel Montt 1007, Santiago 7500982, Chile
+56 2 2985 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3,276 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food at the end of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The best indian restaurant in Santiago. By the minute we enter the place, his owner Rakesh, made us feel like we were at home. He order our meal and everything was fantastic and he teach us how to eat like with our hands. I recommend this place to anyone who would like to have a real Indian experience at the end of the world.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    943
    230
    65
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Rakesh make you fell like in home :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As a lover of Indian food, I highlight above all my other experiences the Indian jewel, stand out for their quality of food, service, but the best ... The make you feel at home

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You must be kidding - how did this get rated as good?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food was medicore at best, the service not good. I was there with my daughter for lunch and we were the only ones there and I had to get up from the table to order something. The prices are outrageous. Almost US$ 20 for less than a cup of Dal (lentils) and over US$ 7.00 for one of the smallest portions of rice I have ever seen. The chicken Vindaloo was very bland and also a small portion. I would recommend that you don't go. There are many better options even in Santiago for decent Indian food at much better prices. How it ever got so many good ratings is beyond me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Sodbury
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Over-hyped, over-priced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Visited on the strength of trip advisor rating, but it is "dining out" on its reputation. The best food option is the vegetarian, in particular the panner dishes, which were lovely.

Service was ok, exactly what you would expect, but not as special as other reviewers have suggested.

In summary, if you are staying in providentia and you fancy a curry and you are not on a budget, then try it. I wouldn't cross town for it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Experience but really not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you want to experience something difference regarding service, thats the right place you should go. You receive a warm welcome right after crossing main door from everybody including restaurant´s owner. Quality of food is not up to the par if you compare others restaurants with same style. Owner, I don't remember his name,but he try to push you to order (lamb) or order for you which means most expensive items of the menu. For me it was a lovely experience shared with friends but i would not to recommend to return unless you are very interested to eating and pay extra money for some kind of indian food.
cheers

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel of India also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Jewel of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.