We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl in Santiago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Luna Calypso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal Luna Calypso to your Saves list
Hostal Luna Calypso
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Manuel Antonio Prieto 0184 | Providencia, Santiago 2750000, Chile (Providencia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Tours, France
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A pearl in Santiago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here for a good month and found it very hard to leave! it felt like home!!! Cleanest hostel i've ever stayed in.Rooms smell of fresh washing.Friendly multilingual staff and very helpful :) Neverending hot water in showers and breakfast was excellent (bread jam, cereal, fruit, yoghurts, milk, tea, coffee).Kitchen although small is practical and well equipped. A quiet hostel so great for just chilling out. Excellent location in Providencia, safe area close to 2 metro lines, historical center and bellavista (all within walking distance). Modern and tastefully decorated. Highly recommended....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
12
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I booked a room at this hostel and was very pleased with what I received, a lovely women named Karin owns and runs the place, i was reading other reviews about critizing her which is very strange for me as she seems so straight forward and nice also very refreshing to be with a women that speaks perfect english and was so willing to help me on every question and doubt I had of the city, It was in a very remote street of the city but blocks away from a major park where I could jog in the morning and she had recommended some very nice cafe to go to. all in all I loved this place the owner and its homey feel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and I booked a double room here after seeing the many good reviews on Tripadvisor.
When we arrived in Santiago, we couldn't find the hostel as it's on the opposite corner from the address given, and there are no obvious signs outside the hostel.
The communal space is good, the rooms are clean and it's in a good location. The problem here is the owner Karin. She is hardly there(although she says she's there from 9 til 9!) which was a problem when guest's arrive to check in(quite a few times!) to be met by fellow guest's - especially when they arrived at 5am, buzzing for 30mins, waking all the guests!? The hostel seems like an extension of Karin's home, rather than a guest house. We have to agree with some of the other reviews...Karin could do with some customer care training, and the reservation system leaves alot to be desired - when we checked out we had to call her, even though she knew we had a bus to catch, and she tried to overcharge us due to a 'problem' between the hostel and the hostel booking site - which obviously had nothing to do with us!

Room Tip: A different hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This place is in a decent location on the south western edge of Providencia, easily walkable to the key bars and sights. It's decent enough inside, with a nice sociable living/dining area. The kitchen was really small so more than one person would struggle to cook at a time. Good shower and it was all nice & clean. Nothing amazing, just a good solid hostel.

The reason I have given this a two not a three though was the chaos of check in/reservations. In keeping with other reviews, I thought how bad could it be... well after a 15 minute walk from the tube with all my stuff in baking heat, I really wanted a shower and a lie down. The lovely lady doing the caretaking had no record I was due and no room. She called this mystery Karin, and I was asked to wait a bit. Over an hour later, another guest came back and he was moved into a dorm to free up a room for me. It was nothing like the private room shown on the website, it was one of the small triple dorms so I still had to climb up into a bunk.

All fine for me in the end, but other guests said Karin is barely there, and I ended up having to take a call and translate because the lovely caretaker, there all day on her own, speaks no English. Karin did show up in the evening to take my money and short changed me CLP$100 into the deal. Not much, but it just topped off her unprofessional attitude to her business. Goodness knows how this place manages to run when it's busy and she can't shunt people around.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is a fairly new hostel. It’s fairly inconspicuous from the outside, with only a small Hostelworld sticker identifying it.
Once we arrived, we were greeted by the owner, who was happy to let us check in early (we had been on an overnight bus, and it was about 8am!) We even were allowed to have breakfast, which was a nice bonus.
The location is fairly central – it’s about a 5 minute walk to the nearest Metro, and around 15 minutes to the fashionable Bella Artistes area. The hostel itself is fairly quiet, but there is a little noise that comes from the building across the road (though this did not go on too late)
The rooms were clean, with a small locker to hold your valuables (it would fit a small daypack, but not a huge rucksack). The doors to the rooms were lockable, and the whole place felt pretty secure.
The kitchen is fairly small, with probably only space for one person to cook, though it is well equipped, with 4 gas rings, an oven and a microwave. The kitchen was also very clean.
The common area is a combined dining area and lounge, with a TV, a large book exchange and plenty of board games. There is a computer (the first public Mac we have encountered) use by guests.
Wifi is available throughout the building and is very fast and very reliable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

if you want a place to feel at home this is it, clean confortable, centrally located to all walking distance and transport for wider trips , the owner Karen kind warn, fun and very helpful, i highly recommend the hostel.

Room Tip: they are all clean cozy and quiet to rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We arrived on Xmas Day and caught the bus and then the metro (which by the way are all working on Xmas Day) to Parque Bustamante, the nearest staion to the Hostal. We found the Hostal quite difficult to find, the number of the address not seeming to tie up to that on the building. However, if you look at the doors right at the end of the road for the "Hostalworld" sticker, you're in the right place.

Our room was not ready at midday but we couldn't quibble, as we could stay upstairs in the lounge area and normal check-in was later in the afternoon anyway.

We had booked a double room with en-suite bathroom. Karin seemed to have us down for bunkbeds in a dorm, which we quickly queried as after 24 hours of travelling, this was not what we had in mind. Karin quickly backed down with a double room for us but no en-suite in sight. As it was Xmas Day and the city was deserted, we decided we were better not arguing with this and risking having to find somewhere else.

The mattress was comfortable and the room was clean but it was very basic. The bath needed replacing and the bathroom as a whole some tlc, but it was also clean.

Breakfast was basic at best, consisting of a yoghurt, toast, butter, jam, fruitcake and sugary cereal. Milk was also available, although on one morning Karin did serve ours up to the whole Hostal!!! I didn't feel too guilty about using hers for tea later on! There was no fruit or juice served and breakfast wasn't until 8:30. Given the mornings are the coolest time in Santiago, it was then difficult to get out much before 9.

There was a computer with internet access, a tv, lots of books/magazines/travel guides to swap and share and an outdoor patio area, along with the lounge. The kitchen was useful for tea and making snacks but was very small for cooking a proper meal in - no more than 2 at a maximum could comfortably be in there.

Finally, Karin was extremely helpful when it came to pointing out good local restaurants, providing us with maps/hints on the city and booking 4am taxis to the airport (she confirmed with them 3 times and also left all her contact details in case they didn't turn up).

Lider supermarket just down the road. The area felt safe at night and location very central.

Room Tip: Take your booking confirmation with you so you get what you ordered!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Luna Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Luna Calypso

Address: Manuel Antonio Prieto 0184 | Providencia, Santiago 2750000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Luna Calypso 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This friendly, family run Hostel is supremely located in Providencia and is in close proximity to all kinds of bars, cafes, restaurants, Barrio Bellavista [a bohemian, exciting neighborhood in Santiago], the Mercado Central [a fish market with many seafood restaurants designed by Eiffel] as well as steps from the Bustamante Metro Station. It’s fairly small size creates a low key atmosphere where different cultures and languages mix easily. The quaint kitchen, simple lounge and private back terrace are all fabulous conversation corners. Dorms and private rooms are clean and fresh with wooden floors, white walls, bold graphic bedding and pine beds. Hang out in our quiet garden after strolling around the lively city of Santiago. Our English speaking staff will happily provide you with maps, information and tips on where to go or you can hire a bike and explore the city on one of its many bike paths. We have private rooms [single/double/triple/] and a small dorm [max. of six people]. Bathrooms with 24h hot water, lounge and kitchen for your use are located on the cozy 2nd floor of the Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Luna Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Luna Calypso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.