We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Epicureo Providencia

Epicureo Providencia
Constitucion 74 - Providencia | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago, Chile (Providencia)
56227324697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 3,313 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Peruvian, International, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Providencia
Description: Culinary hedonism. One of the best gourmet restaurants in Chile. Small, few tables, with a dedicated staff and a his owner/chef always present to satisfy all your needs.
Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed our evening in Epicureo very much: the service was excellent - a very friendly and helpful waiter! The ceviche was excellent, and our main dishes were very good as well! My boys liked the Mexican grill a lot, the meat was very good! And also: the desserts were exquisite! You have to take the Volcano thing: like a mouilleux, delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    40
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
183 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice space, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We chose this restaurant to have dinner in our last night in Chile. Staff was really nice and helpful, informal as we like - our waitress was also very helpful. The space is also interesting and comfortable.
The food itself is good with plenty variety and despite we are not huge fans of this kind of cuisine (cocina de autor) we recognize that it was well cooked and with good presentation and that this space is a very good choice to have dinner in Santiago.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Epicureo Providencia, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your kind words about our restaurant. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. It was truly our pleasure having you with us.

Shall your travel plans bring you back to Santiago we hope to see you again.

Best,

Epicúreo
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
2 reviews
“Best Ceviche ever and Tuna steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Central location and lovely food in a nice place.
Service was great, people are always taking care of what people want and if you're enjoying your time there!
But I was in love with ceviches they brought us!!! and the lovely raw tuna steak. Absolutely gorgeous!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Epicureo Providencia, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Ale,

Thanks for your kind words and for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant. It was truly our pleasure having you with us. We are indeed very proud of our ceviche and tuna steak.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Very best,

Epicureo
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent and Uniqe Salmon Ceviche, OK experience overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The atmosphere isn't great, and it is a bit pricy (averaging about $12-15 per person) but this one dish totally made the meal for me. My friend got it and wasn't hungry so I ended up trying, and then finishing it. It is a very unique ceviche made with aji de gallina. When we asked they told us they buy all their fish from Mercado Central and all their produce from La Vega. One of the best seafood dishes I have ever had. I had another seafood dish, shrimp, that was also pretty good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Epicureo Providencia, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Andrew,

Thanks for your positive words about our restaurant. Yes, we are very proud of our ceviche, which has been recognized by many people as being among the best in town.

Regarding our prices. They are based in the service we offer and the quality of the ingredientes we put into the dishes we carefully prepare. In fact our prices are in line with the restaurant scene in Santiago.

Once again thanks for sharing your comments and we sincerely hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Epicúreo
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average across the board”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We came here based on the glowing tripadvisor reviews, so we ended up being disappointed as it wasn't that great. The food was cooked reasonably well but was quite bland (didn't finish because it got tiresome eating it). They spoke English which was definitely helpful, but there wasn't much to the service. Perhaps we were there on a slow night, because there were only a couple other diners there and it's a decent sized place. Most of the other restaurants nearby were pretty full though. We usually eat better, so it's unlikely we'd go back again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Epicureo Providencia, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you didn't find our restaurant up to your expectations.

However we would like to know more in specific about your experience in order to better address your needs.

Feel free to contact us directly.

Very best,

Epicúreo
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epicureo Providencia also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Epicureo Providencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epicureo Providencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.