We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turistik

Turistik
Calle Encomenderos 260 of 11 | Las Condes, Santiago 7560994, Chile
+56 2 2820 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$36*
and up
Ranked #71 of 152 Activities in Santiago
Type: Bus tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We greatly appreciate that you are considering Turistik to discover the wonderful city of Santiago and its surroundings. Our objective is to provide memorable experiences through reliable, high quality and safe multicultural services which show the attractions of an area which has a lot to offer. Our services are:- Different kind of City Tours in Santiago.- Winery tours (Concha y Toro; Undurraga; more).- Tour to Viña del Mar, Isla Negra and Valparaíso.- Wine Route Tours; Mountain Tours.- Other destinations tours.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After reading the reviews for this company, we were very hesitant to make any bookings with them. But we decided to give it a go with this company.

We did the hop-on/hop-off and had absolutely no issues. One of the better hop-on/hop-off that we've experienced during our travels. Although it is a bit on the costly side.

We also booked a half-day morning Andes tour with them for our last day in Santiago. We were apprenhensive when reading the other traveler's reviews (of not being picked up at their hotels etc ...). But luckily, it didn't happen to us. We were picked up from our hotel on time and the trip up the Andes was amazing! We had to endure an 1.5 hour drive with 60+ very sharp turns en route to 3000 metres above sea-level at the Andes. Once up there, it was well worth it! The tour-guide was very friendly and fluent in Spanish, Portuguese and English.

It sounds like it's luck-of-the-draw with Turistik ---and we were lucky to have had no problems with our experience with Turistik.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    158
    78
    49
    53
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tourists - Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Let me begin by saying that the fact that they LEFT TWO PEOPLE BEHIND on the daytrip to Valpariso/Vina del mar, sort of trumpets anything else that happened on the day trip. The guide didn’t notice until the bus had already pulled away from one of our stops, so we circled around for 45 minutes trying to find them. The poor guys that got left had their bags on the bus as well! The guide told us that this had happened before (!)

We spend most of the time on the bus, which was unfortunate, as we were told we would have time to explore the city. Additionally, as I see someone else has mentioned in their review, they take you an overpriced seafood restaurant and expect you to sit at a long, white table with all of the bus passengers and pay inflated prices. We specifically asked if we would have a choice of places for lunch as we know that familiar tourist trap, and were told yes. We had none of this and left the restaurant to find something else, meeting the bus again before we moved onto our next stop.

I would recommend taking a local bus to Valpariso or Vina Del Mar and exploring the cities yourself rather than take this trip.

We shared our experience with Turistik and received a 25% refund, but I wanted to warn others about our experience. Imagine what a nightmare it was for the two men on our trip that were left behind in a strange city without their belongings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pathetic administration!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I booked for a Turistik tour online and the bus never came to get me. I cannot really comment on the level of service on the actual tour but it is terribly unprofessional and inconvenient when you have planned to go on a tour and then they just miss you on their list. I could not get hold of their call centre and when I eventually did, they did not seem particularly apologetic. Apparently it was "an issue with the bus" - but the same said bus did fetch other passengers that morning according to hotel staff. They offered to do a refund so I am hoping that there are no problems with this. At the very least, they could have offered to do a private tour due to the inconvenience. Based on the poor administration, I would not even consider using this company again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EEBeardsley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good overview if your short on time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Valpiriso-Vina del Mar day trip with a winery tour. The tour picked us up at our hotel ontime, we then rode to the meeting location where we waited 20 minutes for the rest of the group and tour guide to arrive. The tour was a food size, about 15 people. The guide was knowledgeable and tour was very good. The winery tour at Emiliana was nice, great property and tour, wine was not great. The tour through Vina Del Mar was fun with a quick stop to see a Moai from Easter Island. The highlight of the trip was the walk and tour through Valpariso. The tour was a great way to see the areas on a limited amout of time, we went directly to see the highlights. I would recommend this day trip over trying to catch the bus and find all the locations on your own.
Con- we were told lunch was not included in the tour price which makes one assume that you would have an option and choice for lunch. In fact, we went to an organized lunch location that was secluded and the "recommended" lunch location. We did not have any other options but to stay,eat with the group and then pay the high prices. They should have charged more for the tour and included lunch.

On the return, we were to meet another driver to take the group to various parts of the city- we had to wait 40 minutes. Very poor coordination however the guide apologized profusely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Tours of Santiago and Los Andes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ever notice in Latin and South America that directions given by anyone are frustratingly vague? Well, if you are not at a hotel in Santiago (we stayed at a VRBO apartment in Providencia) you may not find the Turistik kiosk in the Parque Arauco mall by asking anyone if they know where it is. Just so you know, it's INSIDE on the first level right next to the "up" escalator. We reserved online for the city tour on 12/23. But you can reserve at the kiosk or the OUTSIDE location in the parking lot. Look for the Nike store on the second level and walk out into the parking lot. Look to your left, there they are. Not much English spoken but you can manage. The City tour was conducted by Damien who had decent English. The tour does not take you INTO any landmarks except for a brisk walk through the cathedral at Plaza de Armas and the very fishy smelling Central Market. Damien also walked too fast for us and a lot of his commentary was lost in the crowd. If you want a very high level overview of Santiago,this tour is ok. At least we didn't get locked out of tours given by Grayline who requires a 72 hour advance notice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turistik also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Turistik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turistik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.