We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice patio on a hot day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coquinaria

Coquinaria
Isidora Goyenechea 3000 | Subsuelo Hotel W, Santiago, Chile
02 245 1934
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 1,360 restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice patio on a hot day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place packs out for lunch with business execs. The patio is lovely. The inside OK in a busy bistro way but sort of bright and lifeless at dinner. The fare is very simple, almost American hotel-ish. But when you veer towards local flavours it shines. The food shop is sort of a Santiago Dean and DeLuca. I couldn’t help but feel that it wouldn’t be so busy if it wasn’t for the lunch turnover. A great pit stop in Las Condes. (You might miss it from the street; it's at the corner and you walk down stairs to get there.)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    99
    119
    34
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have been to coquineria several times to buy things in their shop. I finally went there to eat at the restaurant today. My meal was awful, I had to send it back. I was not allowed to replace it with anything, even if I offered to pay the difference in the price. I spoke with the manager, who said that the chef told her my meal was fine, so I had to deal with It. I will never eat here or recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
“Excellent first meal in Santiago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Dined here our first night in Santiago and the food was truly excellent. Would have given it five stars but the waitress mentioned her tip a number of times which was unnecessary.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fashionable (2012), good restaurant and bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

At the time I visited for the first time (2010) it was the new, fashionable restaurant in the neighbourhood. Since then it has kept the quality but you don't see the jet (propeller) set anymore.

Food is good, but do not expect large sized pieces, everything will be tiny and covered with some kind of sauce (most of them very light and not at all overwhelming). Large selection of wonderful deserts.
Large selection of wines, mostly medium to really expensive.
Reservation will probably be required at lunch and dinner. As oft visited by tourists, dinner can start early, 18:00 hours. If you are chilean, your dinner cannot start earlier than 21:00 hrs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great food and service,excellent specialty food shops next door. Great tasting food of high quality.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coquinaria also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Coquinaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coquinaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.