We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but a little disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barrio Paris Londres

Barrio Paris Londres
Santiago, Chile
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 393 things to do in Santiago
Attraction details
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice but a little disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

it's pretty much like being in a miniature abandoned theme park. not worth the visit. fortunately we were going to Republica, if else it would be a complete waste of time

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    83
    39
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Nothing to see....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Pretty buildings in two streets and thats all... Not relevant and not worth a visit... One cafe and not a good one... Rest of the neighborhood is shaddy... Would not come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We are just walking to get to the Mercado Central when we find this very interesting part o Santiago.
A great feeling of Paris and London. Charming buildings and small restaurants and stores.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Charming little neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This little corner of the city had for a long time the worse reputation. I think if you visit it during the daylight, you'll have no problems. It is a small neighborhood that conserves some old buildings resembling, as their name says it London and Paris. Take a walk during the day, and if you happen to be there around midday , stop and eat at the club that belongs to the almost extinct Radical Political Party. They have inexpensive and pretty good, home style cooked meals at lunch time, it is an old house on Paris street.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Scares the locals but worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at the top of this street for two weeks and every time i said where I was to locals who asked they expressed real concern for my safety. I think the area has been upgraded with several universities using local buildings and what was at one stage a red light district has become a wonderful little haven of boutique hotels and cafes. One of the houses was the centre of torture in the past and plaques to the missing on the pavement and the tour of the house are quite chilling. The San Francisco church is at one end so a visit there can be combined with a visit to these streets. There seems to be an example of all the best Parisian architecture had to offer and I found it charming and very photogenic. I walked up the street at 2 in the morning (not by choice)and never saw any problems but I think it is probably best seen in the daytime as I never ignore local advice.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio Paris Londres also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Barrio Paris Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrio Paris Londres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.