We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience, but may not be for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ana Maria Restaurant

Ana Maria Restaurant
Club Hipico # 476 | Santiago Centro, Santiago, Chile
+56(2)6984064
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,382 restaurants in Santiago
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice experience, but may not be for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Writing this review is as bit tough--to be completely honest, the food wasn't the best we had on our trip. But, the service was impeccable and the ambience was great--maybe we didn't order the perfect dish for us, so we'd certainly encourage you to choose a "game" that you think you'd like!

We were greeted by the host and were quickly given a table. The ambience is romantic and quite perfect for either a date or for a nice dinner with family. We were served bread which was tasty. We then had two appetizers: beef carpaccio and grilled shrimp. The portions weren't huge, but both were tasty. For the entree, we decided to share rabbit--it was clearly well cooked but it wasn't to our liking. Maybe we should have tried a different dish or something potentially less adventurous.

Overall though, if you do like game, try it out or go for something simple!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    43
    24
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Maybe I am just not a fan of Chilean food or maybe I just did not order the right food, but I find the cooking rather ordinary at Ana Maria. I started with a consomme, and had albacora (they did not have sea bass, which I originally wanted) and sautée mushroom for main course. However, I was not impressed by any of the three dishes I ordered. The quality of its service, the decoration in the restaurant and the free bread served were, however, top-notch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food made with love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Traditional family restaurant with a plethora of offerings on the menu. I was fortunate to be served by one of Ana Maria's grandsons who was most hospitable and clearly had a passion for the establishment.

The food was beutifully served and obviously made with passion. Only downside is that Chilean food can be quite salty. Despite this, I highly recommend Ana Maria's for the overall Chilean experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent change of pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It's pace is a bit off the beaten path. I found out about it from a Andrew Zimmern Bizarre Foods episode. Nothing bizarre about it. It's a pleasant courtyard like atmosphere that serves a variety of wild game (deer, goose, duck, rabbit, boar, etc) and seafood. Great choice for those wanting to have a change of pace.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I found this place through a friend and enjoyed everything from the service to the exquisite locos with mayo. You have to ring the bell and once inside you get to see many tourists choose it as a place to lunch, despite not calling the attention too much from the outside.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ana Maria Restaurant also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Ana Maria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ana Maria Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.