We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wouldn't stay there again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Capital

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Capital to your Saves list
Apartamentos Capital
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Dr. Manuel Barros Borgono 41 | Providencia, Santiago 7501007, Chile (Formerly Apart Hotel Capital)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 379 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, wouldn't stay there again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I'm torn about this place. On the one side, location is great, literally a few steps from the subway station, which makes moving around Santiago quite easy. There are also several places where to eat not far from there. The studio apartment was also very clean. On the other side, I found the noise unbearable and the setup uncomfortable, which I'll explain below.

I arrived on a Sunday and the concierge of the building was not aware of my arrival. Then I discovered that the building has only the odd apartment as a hotel and the rest are just normal residences. This was tricky because the concierge (who doesn't work for Apartamentos Capital) was spending a lot of time trying to sort out my problem, but some of the residents were complaining about this because it was not his job to work as a hotel receptionist. Being trapped in this discussion after a 30-hour trip was not a good first impression. After *two* hours my apartment was available.

The apartment did not have air conditioning, which in end-of-spring Santiago meant that either it was very hot with the windows shut or very noisy with the open windows. There was a noisy fan available in the room. The BBQ area looked OK, but the roof-top swimming pool is stamp size, so forget about really using it (I tend to book places were I can go for a swim).

The place would certainly improve with air conditioning and a new door lock (the current one was stuck).

Would I stay in the place another time? No, I rather go to a different 'proper' hotel and avoid the hassle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Apartamentos Capital, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

We would like to reply to your comments in specif order to better address your feedback.

1.- Yes, until recently our apartments didn't have AC. However that problem is now solved and all our apartments have a brand new AC unit installed

2- We are not a standard hotel with 24 hours front desk service. We offer furnished apartments at the hearth of Santiago. Our check in time is at 02:00 PM. If you arrive prior to that time and we have an available apartment we will of course accommodate you in just minutes. Otherwise we rely in our cleaning service. Furthermore our private reception is staffed Monday through Saturday. During Sundays the building concierge works as our receptionist

3.- Our pool is indeed very small. It's purpose is mainly for relax or to be used together with the BBQ area

4.- Regarding our lock we weren't aware that you had problems with your room key. We will definitely look into this

Once again thanks for sharing your comments and we truly hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Apartamentos Capital
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
23
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Looking for a great apartment in Providencia? I stayed at the Apart Hotel Capital for almost two months while on business in Santiago, and highly recommend it. Sebastian Delia, the proprietor, is a great guy, very responsive and did everything to make me feel at home, arranging an airport pick up, answering questions, providing directions and helpful advice. The Apart Hotel Capital is literally on top of the Manuel Montt Metro station so it's easy to get anywhere in the city, and there are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. I'm highly noise sensitive and the building is between two busy streets, but the street noise never kept me from sleeping (I turned on a fan at night to create some 'white noise' and that took care of it). There is daily housekeeping, a small gym and a GREAT rooftop BBQ area which we used a couple of times for parties (Sebastian helped arrange this). There is also a 24 hour concierge who makes sure the building stays secure. You can walk to Bellavista in one direction and to the entrance to the San Cristobal hill hiking trail in the other direction. It's a great place for an extended stay in Santiago.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Apartamentos Capital, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi Susan,

Thanks for your kind words and for sharing your experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor Community.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Apartamentos Capital
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Capital

Address: Dr. Manuel Barros Borgono 41 | Providencia, Santiago 7501007, Chile (Formerly Apart Hotel Capital)
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 379 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Capital 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best neighborhood in Santiago, literally at the entrance of the Manuel Montt subway station. Fully equipped apartments offer the best location to restaurants, shopping centers and main city attractions. All in a very safe area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Capital, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.