We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location, but otherwise not a standout” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santiago Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Santiago Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santiago Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Enrique Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 301 Specialty lodging in Santiago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good central location, but otherwise not a standout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a private room, double bed, private bathroom. Great location in the centre of the city, but average on all other things- good sized room but noisy, bathroom clean but shower head was broken. Free dinner one night a week which is good, standard free breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thanks for your review, Amy. We appreciate your words and we also take it as a chance to do better and better. Normally our staff is also highlighted as a difference maker, we'll keep working to keep it like that
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
17
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Cosy staff and hostel. Good quality mattress. Wide activities to do during the weekdays. Wifi was free, that was so important because I think internet is like oxygen we need to breathe!! Friendly attitude from the chilean guy and Felicia.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Right in the centre of town, this is a great place to stay. The staff are helpful and genuinely friendly, the breakfast is really good, and the common areas are clean.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed for 5 nits in 2 apartments, so not in the main building. The apartments were very nice, decorated to a high spec and comfortable. We did have some issues with them although we were told that the hostel wouldnt be using these particular apartments again as they have other apartments that are theirs, so I won't go into our concerns in this review.

The hostel is bang in the centre of Santiago, a 5 minute walk from plaza del Armas, so it's very easy to go anywhere. The obvious downside of the location is the constant trafic noise. We never met the famous Ari, mentioned in so many reviews, but all the staff we met were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The apartments were very hot at night and when we mentioned this the staff found us a fan to use. We had breakfast there every morning and it was absolutely fine, though nothing special.

We'd stay here again and would recommend it as long as you don't mind the noise that accompanies being as central as it is.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hostel is okay. The rooms are big, the kitchen is good, even though they only had one frying pan, without a handle. Plenty of space, good internet, very friendly staff, clean... But the major downside was the noise. We stayed for 6 nights because we had to wait in Santiago. And every single night there was a lot of noise coming from the communal areas and from the hallways. The staff is present 24/7 but more often than not participates in the parties. Nobody even tries to keep his voice down here after midnight.

So if you like parties, this is definitely your place. If you like to sleep at night, go somewhere else. And oh yeah, the 'swimming pool' is a joke :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Hi there. Thanks for the positive sides. Regarding noisy nights, these guests stayed in a period the hostel was fully booked. We never organize events that last after midnight, or maybe 1 or 2 in during the weekend. When we do this, the events always take place in our dining room or patios, and our 24/7 staff has clear instructions of controlling the noise in the rest areas. Still, when booking our cheapest dorm, you know you will be sharing with another 6 or 7 guests who also want the cheapest dorm. When guests complain about other guests, we definetly make sure that everyone can rest in the dormitories, but for that we need someone to ask us. That is told to anyone who checks in at Santiago Backpackers. As a general rule, we recommend to people who is looking for better quality of sleep to take private rooms.

Ari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The hostel is a short walk from Plaza de Armas, downtown Santiago and the Bellavista area and is a good base for exploring the city. There are a number of dorm rooms with a maximum of 6-8 beds.

I stayed in the double room ensuite. This was on the front of the hostel and overlooked the main road (Enrique Mac-Iver) and there was traffic noise all day and into the night. I would recommend earplugs. The room was large with high ceilings and a large window with shutters that opened onto the street. The bathroom was small and the shower fixture was broken but when the hot water eventually came through (after 5 minutes) the shower was good. Towels are available to hire at an extra cost and there is a key deposit of 10,000 pesos, but you get this back when you check out.

The kitchen area is clean and there was no problem with crowding when I was there. Breakfast is served here – bread (toaster is provided), jam, a piece of fruit, juice and tea and coffee (instant). There is also a courtyard and a lounge with a big TV.

The staff arrange activities for guests including visits to markets, cheese and wine tasting and pub crawls and they are all very nice and helpful, answering all of my questions.

A good place to socialise and see the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I could not have found a better place than this hostel to stay in Santiago! It is perfectly located, big dorms, and very clean (someone clean the hostel everyday)! Ahh and the beds are soooo comfortable!! But you should go there first for the amazing staff!!! They are very helpfull! You can ask them any question about your trip (not only in santiago but in all Chile) and they will always have the best answer for you. Ari, the manager, knows is country buy heart! He is lovely, he will tell you every place you should see in Chile! I will recommend this hostel to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santiago Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Backpackers

Address: Enrique Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 301 Specialty lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santiago Backpackers 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Santiago's greatest hostel! Perfect location in downtown, 100-year-old restored unit, amazing facilities, extra large beds and more!We offer Furnished apartments, private rooms and cheap dorms to suit every traveler's need. Join our social activities and discover all Santiago has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Santiago Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santiago Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.