We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gen to your Saves list
Hotel Gen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Portugal 415, Santiago, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at this Hotel as it was where our Intrepid tour commenced.
You can view the main facilities from the Hotel website. The room was very spacious and comfortable compared to where we stayed in the city centre before getting here.
There were a number of places where you could buy your supplies.
Only setback (if you can call it that), is that it is a bit out of the main city centre and about 1/2 hour walk to town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    162
    93
    40
    26
See reviews for
70
158
19
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel Gen is very well located, close to a Subway Station (Santa Isabel) and some grocery stores where you can buy your water bottles to hidrate you during your tours (Santiago has a very dry air).
The hotel has a swimming pool on its top, wich is very nice and has also a gorgeus overview from the city.
The staff is good. I needed to change rooms because my shower wasn't getting hot and they were helpful with that.
The breakfast wasn't exactly what I like the most for breakfast, but it was ok.
The cost-benefit was good. I recomend them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEN S, Departamento de Reservas at Hotel Gen, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Huésped

Muchas Gracias por sus excelentes comentarios, su opinión permite que nos sintamos orgullosos y motivados con el trabajo que realizamos. Es un agrado saber que nuestras habitaciones e instalaciones han cumplido con sus expectativas y que pudo aprovechar de su estadía.

Agradecemos que se haya dado el tiempo de entregar su comentario.

Atentamente.

Departamento de Reservas
Hotel Gen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A nice hotel in not a very good location.
Great view and pool upstairs, gym is fairly average.
The staff were helpful and their taxi service was convenient but expensive.
Wifi in the lobby was good but didnt get any in our room.
But our room was very comfotable with a small kitchen sitting area/desk and a clean ensuite.
The bed was small and the cards to get into our room were often not working which was very frustrating.
Good breakfast but not great.
Also very slow lifts.
Still an adequate hotel considering it was under $100US per night for 2 people.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEN S, Departamento de Reservas at Hotel Gen, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped

Queremos agradecer su opinión en Tripadvisor, para nosotros es fundamental saber lo que piensan nuestros pasajeros, es importante conocer sus experiencias.

En cuanto a las llaves eso sucede porque al roce con cualquier artículo metálico se desactivan y desafortunadamente se debe volver activar desde la recepción. Por otra parte le aprovecho de contar que dentro de nuestro plan de mejoras continuas se está construyendo un nuevo ascensor con vista panorámica, el cual seguramente estará funcionando si en otra oportunidad nos visita.

Agradecemos su tiempo y esperamos poder ser su opción de hospedaje a futuro y que esos detalles importantes sean mejorados, ya que nuestra misión es siempre trabajar por otorgar el mejor de los servicios.

Atentamente.

Departamento de Reservas
Hotel Gen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a great hotel. Perhaps it is not up to standards if you compare it with other 4 star hotels around the world. However, it has big rooms, a kitchenette which we did not use but you can call housekeeping and they will bring you anything you need. It has a great roof top swimming pool. My only criticism is to the staff. Although most of them where very friendly; they are not very knowledgeable about the hotel they are working in. Every time we had a question about the hotel, nobody really knew the answers or we were given different answers. Other than this we had a good time. We even had dinner once in the restaurant and the food was very good if you don’t mind the long waiting time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEN S, Departamento de Reservas at Hotel Gen, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Huésped

Agradecemos que haya tomado de su tiempo para dar su opinión sobre nuestras intalaciones, toda opinión nos ayuda sobre todo si se trata de buenas opiniones.
La verdad que debo indicar que nuestro personal esta siendo capacitado constantemente para que no suceda lo que indica Usted, por lo que explica el inconveniente que tuvo debio ser en el área operativa, por lo cual se ha informado al encargado del área para que no vuelva a suceder.
Esperamos que ha futuro seamos su opcion para volver a hospedar.

Atentamente.


Atte.

Departamento de Reservas
Hotel Gen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is centrally located. If you are able to walk some distances, you can easily reach sights (for instance, the hill of Santa Lucia), eateries and a local handicraft market.
The check in and check out process was very fast. The staff was friendly, spoke English. When we entered the room, the safe was locked. We called the reception and in 10 minutes the problem was solved.
Our room was new, spacious, nicely decorated, very clean. The only drawback was the absence of glasses or cups in the room (though there was a fridge with drinks). The air conditioning worked properly.
The view from the rooftop must be amazing (it was foggy because of the forest fires on the day of our stay). The swimming pool is very nice.
We were given the password for the free Internet access which broke from time to time.
The breakfast was OK - a lot of fruit and very tasty cheese.There were not enough cutlery, plates and glasses in the breakfast room, so we had to wait for them to be brought and wiped in front of us. it seemed they had some issues there with cleanliness there.
The staff recommended and booked us for an afternoon tour with the Touristour which was fabulous. (38USD per person).
A taxi from the hotel to the airport takes 20-30 minutes and the hotel staff can book one for you.


.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I traveled with 2 others and we booked a room with 3 beds, which is hard to come by. We booked the room for 2 nights at first and ended up staying for a total of 5 nights. We had looked around for other hotels to compare, but didn't find anything for a better price. The suite was modern, spacious and clean.

The suite had 2 bathrooms, which is great for 3 women. There was a living room with kitchen, however the kitchen equipment did not work (no rooms had working kitchens) so there was no kitchen utensils. This was a let down as we booked the room thinking we could prepare our own meals. They had extended a discount to us for the 3 additional nights we booked. We took advantage of the great breakfast buffet they offered. The breakfast has a wide selection, complete with baked goods, 3 changing hot items (ie eggs, sausage, hashbrowns), cereal, fruit, yogurt and more. It gets VERY busy, so best to come early or later so you can get seating.

The location is not that close to center of town, but walk-able. There is a grocery store just down the road.

We used the in-house spa services and I received a manicure and my sister and mom received massages. They said the massage was satisfactory while I had a horrible experience with the manicure. The 'esthetician' was EXTREMELY slow and didn't plan on cutting my cuticles, which is the only thing I really wanted done. I asked her to cut them and she did but it was very painful so I ended up taking over and cutting them myself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a disappointment . The pics on the booking.com and their websites were good but once we got there the place was looking old and a bit run down.
Swimming pool on top floor and the gym were really horrible.
Nice breakfast and staff was friendly.

Good location

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gen

Address: Av. Portugal 415, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gen 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.