We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, appaling service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka

Osaka
Isidora Goyenechea | W Santiago, Santiago 3000, Chile (Las Condes)
(56 2) 770 0081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3,265 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Peruvian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Las Condes
Description: Sensational Nikkei Sushi (Japanese with Peruvian fusion, in a wild adventure of typical Peruvian ingredients conjured by Oriental cooking techniques , let your chopsticks push the boundaries of contemporary cusine art. Just as spectacular is the wall fountain, a calming and inspiring flow of trickling water to set the mood and tone for your evening. Perch at the sushi bar to get up close and personal with the day's finest and freshest, and see your seafood come to live under the sensational skills of our chefs
Rdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, appaling service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Went here with good friends, group of 5 on a saturday evening. When making the reservation the time slot available (not our demand) was 22.30, which was actually fine for us. However, for Osaka itself it was far from fine.

We started off ordering some appetizers and piscos. 30mins in still no drinks or appetizers, but a waiter indicating that if we wanted to order more food we should be ordering now because the kitchen was closing in 15mins. We indicated that if you have a seating at 22.30 it's - mildly put - a bit strange to close the kitchen that quickly. After our drinks finally arrived (45mins in) we also ordered the mains, but no appetizers had yet arrived. Unfortunately on ordering the mains no more sushis (literally none) were available - to date still unclear to us why. We had to keep the waiter attentive to our table since he was talking to other guests while jotting down our mains.

To our surprise 10 mins later the first main courses arrived, but no appetizers, those came 5 mins later together with some complimentary spring rolls. All in all the appetizers and mains ended up arriving at the same time.

To finally finish off, the bill included the "complimentary" spring rolls. On indicating this, another bill without the spring rolls was already printed and handed over to us.

Food was great, but for a top 10 restaurant in Santiago really appaling service. Osaka in SP and BA have much higher service levels, although the food in Santiago is undoubtedly better. My firm recommendation would be not to accept late seating if proposed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    141
    53
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Sushi in Santiago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Good variety of Sushi, all fresh with plenty of choices. Inside the W Hotel in Santiago where there's plenty of action at the lobby afterwards for drinks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Osaka, responded to this review, November 24, 2014
Hi BAG10028,
It is a pleasure to know you really enjoyed Osaka at W Santiago and the fresh variety of sushis ! We really hope you can come again! Thank you so much for your good comments and for chosing us!

Warmest wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Peruvian/Japanese Fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We are from Hawaii and know Asian Fusion very well and this restaurant performs. Good service, you can either sit at the sushi bar or traditional seating. Also good wine list. Aloha

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Osaka, responded to this review, November 24, 2014
Aloha Randy808!

It is a pleasure for us to know you had a great time at Osaka! Thank you so much for your feedback about the service, the wine list and the recommendation to sit at the bar or tradicional seating.
We really hope to see you soon!

Warmest wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious and Sophisticated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Everything we tried was delicious. Service is fast and the attention is good. Difficult to get a reservation sometimes, but is worth to insist.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Osaka, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello constantino s,
We are glad to know you had a good experience in every way with the service and with your orders It is so good to know the food was what you expected! It is a very good recommendation for other guests to make appointment with time, we really appreciate it!
We hope to have you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Asian Fusion, but book ahead!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Osaka was a great dining experience. Highlights were: Modern Design, Comfortable Setting, Fresh Salmon Sushi, Osaka Salad, Peruvian Scallops, and Ceviche.

Ambiance is great and a perfect place for couples on a date. We ordered 5 dishes with 3 drinks and bill came to around $100, which wasn't bad considering the quality and it being a fusion restaurant.

Service was average, could use some improvement but the delicious food made up for this.

Absolutely need a reservation, hostess is not the friendliest and will not go out of their way to help you. Even if you are staying at the W, make sure you reserve ahead or you most likely will not be able to dine there.

www.travelwithcyrus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Osaka, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello CyrusJanssen,

We would like to thank you for all your comments about the modern design, comfortable setting, and the dishes, which will work for sure as a recommendation for other guests at the moment to explore our menu.
We also thank you for the comments about de service, It really helps us to improve it every day a little more.

Warmest whishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.