We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive japanese fusion but tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka

Osaka
Isidora Goyenechea | W Santiago, Santiago 3000, Chile (Las Condes)
(56 2) 770 0081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 3,399 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Peruvian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Las Condes
Description: Sensational Nikkei Sushi (Japanese with Peruvian fusion, in a wild adventure of typical Peruvian ingredients conjured by Oriental cooking techniques , let your chopsticks push the boundaries of contemporary cusine art. Just as spectacular is the wall fountain, a calming and inspiring flow of trickling water to set the mood and tone for your evening. Perch at the sushi bar to get up close and personal with the day's finest and freshest, and see your seafood come to live under the sensational skills of our chefs
Malaysia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Expensive japanese fusion but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Seems to be very popular, reservations are required but space is limited, 3 guys cramped into a small corner table was tricky for us. Food was good but expensive (average US$20 each), may be good for people who hardly eat Japanese or fusion. Try the tasty 'Lomo Saltado Nikkei' (US$25). There was one fried fish dish that was served in bite-sized spoons, good too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    130
    48
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wish we had Osaka back home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have visited Santiago every August for the past few years and always have dinner at Osaka each time. I am not a big fan of "nouveau" Japanese (I much prefer Matsuhisa over Nobu) but Osaka marries Peruvian, Japanese and international influences in a beautiful way. Ceviche is reinterpreted with things like shiso leaf, scallion, mango or red peppercorns. Carpassion is a salmon sashimi dressed with a passion fruit infused sauce and garnished with crisp phyllo. The duck confit is mouthwatering and the whitefish skewers topped with ginger and scallion are reminiscent of Chinese steamed fish. Portions are reasonable and good for eating family style. Come here if you enjoy raw fish, big flavors and savory meats. The front reception service is a bit cool but the waiters have always been great. Located in the W Hotel, you can finish a late dinner with a drink at the rooftop bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Amazing Peruvian Japanese fusion cuisine at not too insane prices, for the quality this is a must visit place in Santiago. It's not the best peruvian food in the city but it is definitely ranked one the top restaurants for a good reason! Vayanse!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My best meal in Santiago after a month”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is without doubt the best meal I have had in Santiago after a month of hunting for good food. It is, however, also the most expensive one. Osaka is the kind of restaurant that I am keen on making a return trip.

The Makizushi with cevich we ordered was full of flavors, with the rice done right (many sushi places including authentic sushi places with japanese chefs in Santiago do not do the rice justice), I notice one of the Japanese reviewered claimed that the quality of the food in Osaka is not comparable to the quality of food in a Japanese convenience store. I really disagree with his remark. I have spent a total of more than six months of my life in different parts of Japan, and I made numerous attempts to eat well. While the price you pay in Osaka will perhaps bring you fresher and better food in Japan, it is NOT true that Japanese convenience store food is even comparable to the food in Osaka. Osaka is not a Japanese restaurant, serving peruvian-Japanese fusión instead. And I think the combination is beauitiful.

The Tradito we had of salmon is also innovative and full of flavors. I highly recommend it. On the other hand, I did not like the Loco nigirizushi as much. I guess abalone is perhaps not very suitable for sushis.

Finally, the dessert, though costly, is impressive. I am happy to have made a price for it.

So overall, I recommend Osaka without any reservation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Especially if you like fish, or Peruvian.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to try fish, but not just the average type. So I found this place, which is hidden inside the W Hotel. It's on the fourth floor, not easy to find unless somebody tells you. The food is extremely good. The service excellent. The place is a bit small, so you rather have reservations unless you go on your on I want to sit at the bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.