We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive japanese fusion but tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka

Osaka
Isidora Goyenechea | W Santiago, Santiago 3000, Chile (Las Condes)
(56 2) 770 0081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 3,760 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Japanese, Peruvian, Sushi, Asian, South American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Las Condes
Description: Sensational Nikkei Sushi (Japanese with Peruvian fusion, in a wild adventure of typical Peruvian ingredients conjured by Oriental cooking techniques , let your chopsticks push the boundaries of contemporary cusine art. Just as spectacular is the wall fountain, a calming and inspiring flow of trickling water to set the mood and tone for your evening. Perch at the sushi bar to get up close and personal with the day's finest and freshest, and see your seafood come to live under the sensational skills of our chefs
Malaysia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Expensive japanese fusion but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Seems to be very popular, reservations are required but space is limited, 3 guys cramped into a small corner table was tricky for us. Food was good but expensive (average US$20 each), may be good for people who hardly eat Japanese or fusion. Try the tasty 'Lomo Saltado Nikkei' (US$25). There was one fried fish dish that was served in bite-sized spoons, good too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wish we had Osaka back home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have visited Santiago every August for the past few years and always have dinner at Osaka each time. I am not a big fan of "nouveau" Japanese (I much prefer Matsuhisa over Nobu) but Osaka marries Peruvian, Japanese and international influences in a beautiful way. Ceviche is reinterpreted with things like shiso leaf, scallion, mango or red peppercorns. Carpassion is a salmon sashimi dressed with a passion fruit infused sauce and garnished with crisp phyllo. The duck confit is mouthwatering and the whitefish skewers topped with ginger and scallion are reminiscent of Chinese steamed fish. Portions are reasonable and good for eating family style. Come here if you enjoy raw fish, big flavors and savory meats. The front reception service is a bit cool but the waiters have always been great. Located in the W Hotel, you can finish a late dinner with a drink at the rooftop bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SnowjoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Amazing Peruvian Japanese fusion cuisine at not too insane prices, for the quality this is a must visit place in Santiago. It's not the best peruvian food in the city but it is definitely ranked one the top restaurants for a good reason! Vayanse!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gentileza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My best meal in Santiago after a month”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is without doubt the best meal I have had in Santiago after a month of hunting for good food. It is, however, also the most expensive one. Osaka is the kind of restaurant that I am keen on making a return trip.

The Makizushi with cevich we ordered was full of flavors, with the rice done right (many sushi places including authentic sushi places with japanese chefs in Santiago do not do the rice justice), I notice one of the Japanese reviewered claimed that the quality of the food in Osaka is not comparable to the quality of food in a Japanese convenience store. I really disagree with his remark. I have spent a total of more than six months of my life in different parts of Japan, and I made numerous attempts to eat well. While the price you pay in Osaka will perhaps bring you fresher and better food in Japan, it is NOT true that Japanese convenience store food is even comparable to the food in Osaka. Osaka is not a Japanese restaurant, serving peruvian-Japanese fusión instead. And I think the combination is beauitiful.

The Tradito we had of salmon is also innovative and full of flavors. I highly recommend it. On the other hand, I did not like the Loco nigirizushi as much. I guess abalone is perhaps not very suitable for sushis.

Finally, the dessert, though costly, is impressive. I am happy to have made a price for it.

So overall, I recommend Osaka without any reservation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pclslyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
179 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Especially if you like fish, or Peruvian.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to try fish, but not just the average type. So I found this place, which is hidden inside the W Hotel. It's on the fourth floor, not easy to find unless somebody tells you. The food is extremely good. The service excellent. The place is a bit small, so you rather have reservations unless you go on your on I want to sit at the bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colesterol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing