We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget choice in Bellavista” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal del Barrio

Save Saved
You added Hostal del Barrio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal del Barrio
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   General Ekdhal 159 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 0, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 301 Specialty lodging in Santiago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great budget choice in Bellavista”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Safe, clean, and good location. Not the most exciting decor inside, but at the price and location a good deal. Design and higher price are next door at the Hostal Caracol. Short stroll to the heart of Bellavista, hipster and foodie center of Santiago. Manager Luis was helpful with directions for taking care of errands and appointments in parts of the city that guide books don't cover.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Ideally located for downtown Santiago and the clubs and bars of the Bellavista area.

The hostel is spotless but could do with a lick of paint. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. I thought that the bathroom to rooms ratio was rather low.

Security was high with remoted controlled external gate from the road. There was a little noise as people passed by late at night but did not stop us sleeping well.

It was great value hostel for the location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in room 4 for 4 nights late Oct12. I really enjoyed the whole experience including the friendly dog - My leg will always remember you fondly. Thanks for a great stay Nora, Alberto & staff! See you next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

it was a great stay in the Hostel, friendly staff, good music, nice breakfast! and everything its clean. The neighborhood is perfect a lot of bars, restorants, an highlights place, in general everything is ok, sometimes its a bit noisy outside in the street.

I like the Hostel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Whatever you do, don't stay in room #3. It's right outside the check in desk and front door. Since hostel is near a lot of cool bars, you can imagine the noise late at night and early in the morning. Also, the security seemed very minimal. The gate and the front door weren't locked when we came in at night, and it seemed like anyone could easily come through our window. We asked to switch rooms the second night, and it worked out much, much better upstairs.

The location is really nice. I loved all the bars, restaurants, and general atmosphere of the Bella Vista neighborhood. You are also within walking distance of a lot of tourist spots. Cab ride from the airport, however, is very pricy. Oh, and on that note, I arranged for two airport pickups through Hostel del Barrio and no one showed up for either one. We got a cab just fine luckily.

The great location, free breakfast, and friendly staff are what makes this a good, four-star hostel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Excellent location in a "must see" neighborhood, near to everithing you want, clean, staff very friendly and willing service. I recommend the rooms that not facing the street, because on weekends there may be some noise (not much anyway). The only complaint was a mix up with our reservation, which forced us to stay in a room with shared bathroom despite having booked a room with private bathroom!!. Otherwise, just excellent. Thanks Gonzalo, Nohra and other members of staff!

Room Tip: 2nd floor not facing the street rooms are quieter and have better WIFI reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had 2 nights at the hostal in Aug. We booked a double room with private bathroom. When we arrived the previous occupants had taken the room key with them so there was no way the lock the room door! While the staff were waiting for the locksmith to arrive, they offered us a double room with a shared bathroom but we thought both the room and bathroom looked dodgy and unorthodox. We decided to store our bags and wait for the lock to be fixed. It was fixed about 8 hours later at around 10pm! Breakfast was very nice. The hostal is in a good location in Bellavista close to alot of restaurants, bars and museums. Overall a good stay but perhaps not the best value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal del Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal del Barrio

Address: General Ekdhal 159 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 0, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 301 Specialty lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal del Barrio 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our recently opened hostel in barrio Bellavista, Santiago's bohemian district! We are wishing to welcome people from all over the world, young backpackers as well as "grown up" travellers, that are looking for an economic but comfortable accomodation alternative. We dispose of different room types, such as 3/4 people dorms, private doubles/triples and a 4 person suite. We serve a full breakfast included in our room prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hostal del Barrio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal del Barrio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.