We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santiago and Valparaiso” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santiago Adventures

Santiago Adventures
Dr. Manuel Barros Borgono 198 | 2nd Floor, Santiago, Chile (Providencia)
+56 2 2244 2749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 152 Activities in Santiago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Santiago Adventures creates extraordinary experiences in Chile & Argentina from wine valleys to ski country and northern deserts to Patagonia. We also specialize in wine, bike & ski adventures.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Santiago and Valparaiso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Chris was an astute tour guide, quickly recognizing that our family of 6 had diverse and graduated interests in Chile and was able to absorb and accommodate all questions we threw at him with lightening speed. We were met exactly on time Christmas Eve day, and put in a very comfortable vehicle. Chris was fluent in history, politics, culture and English. Santiago Adventures surprised us by assigning Chris to us in Valparaiso and Vina del Mar as well, giving us a sense of continuity and familiarity. Bravo! Thanks Chris!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    14
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This company impressed me right from the beginning, communication was done easy with Victor, he responds my email with all the information I need promptly. I take 2 tours : elmorado trekking and valparaiso & wine, they're all great. The tour guide (Peter & Chris) are nice, friendly and knowledgable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, safe and confident guides.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our decision to hire Santiago Adventures was easy. Patricia answered our emails promptly within a day or so and the great exchanges gave us all the confidence that we were hiring a fantastic company. We gave her all the details of our trip and our expectations, and she did the rest. The hotels she selected for us were top notch.

We were escorted by Mark, our biking guide, and Jose Manuel, our driver. Mark was an excellent host, providing all kinds of information that helped us understand and appreciate this region of Chile. He truly is passionate about cycling and his adopted country and made every effort to make our biking as comfortable as possible. Jose Manuel, obviously proud of his country, shared some of his enthusiasm by making a remarkable effort in communicating with me in English. It was very much appreciated. His presence on the road as he escorted us was reassuring and provided a welcome respite when I needed to jump in the van and follow Mark and my wife while they continued cycling. At the end of the tour, we felt we made new friends with Mark and Jose Manuel, who I adopted as my new uncle, Tio Jose Manuel.

Santiago Adventures has set the bar high for cycling tours for us.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding custom tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We used Santiago Adventures for a private bike tour of wineries in the Casablanca Valley and they were outstanding. We were four people, plus two small children (4 & 2), who hadn't biked in 15 plus years. We organized this at the last minute and our plans kept changing but Santiago Adventures handled all of this seamlessly, reassuring all of us the trip would work for the children (who had never done anything like this) and providing multiple options.
Once we met our guide, Manuel, everything went smoothly, from fitting our bikes to getting the children stocked with snacks. The biking was at the perfect level for us, although I felt sure it would have been customized to those with more experience. The chosen wineries were excellent, a perfect introduction to Chilean wine for us, and the picnic lunch at the end was in a beautiful location.
While the price may initially seem high, once you see the level of expertise, attention and overall quality of service you realize the price:quality ratio is extremely good. Would use them again in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent resource!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We decided to combine a day trip from Santiago to Valparaiso and Vina del Mar plus a late lunch at Casas del Bosque winery and Santiago Adventures coordinated everything perfectly. Our guide was resourceful, timely, and delightful. We would highly recommend them again and will certainly use them for our next South America trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santiago Adventures also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Santiago Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santiago Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.