We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes advantage of tourists” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Donde Augusto

Donde Augusto
Calle San Pablo 967 | Mercado Central, Santiago 8320009, Chile
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #618 of 3,226 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fresh Seafood in Mercado Centra
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Takes advantage of tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We chose Donde Augusto in the Mercado Central because our firends had eaten there before on a prievious visit to Santiago. The food was quite good, we ordered a very good Chilean wine, but the service was so-so. Because the clientel is mostly tourists, we didn't feel there was the same desire to please, and the prices were inflated. Most disappointing, at the end of the meal, we gave our servier a percentage of the bill to add as a tip, and later learned that he increased the amount of the tip. So, a word to the wise, check your bill.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    289
    249
    115
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Average Food and Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

From the time we arrive in Santiago, everyone we spoke to recommended the Mercado Central. We finally had the time to get over there. Its pretty cool to see. One part is the actual market and then in another large area are all the restaurants. Donde Augusto is the biggest of the restaurants and was packed with people. We figured we would try DA. The food was good. The service is quick. It was definitely cool to see but I had eaten better seafood dishes elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

As much as I enjoyed La Vega market, I could not say the same for Donde Augusto, a restaurant located next to the fish market part of La Vega. We were visiting Santiago and friends took us there. Walking by, you are literally assaulted by waiters trying to pursuade you to eat at Donde Augusto. Service was adaquate and the food mediocre. The prices were very high, way out of line for what was received. In short, Donde Augusto is a tourist trap. There are many small restaurants, frequented by locals, in and around La Vega. They are much more interesting and the food is better and significantly cheaper.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, very touristic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

You should try the "Corvina Ceviche", very good. Service is on the average, considering is a place always full of tourists (Central Market).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“VERY popular but average Marisqueria”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A group of us had lunch here and they offered a large selection of options but I really wasn't that fond of what we ate. The fish was not as fresh as I'd hoped and the preparation was fairly basic. The mercato's ambiance is very pleasant and you'll enjoy people watching. Strolling minstrels add a nice touch as well. But sometimes hawkers are not such a desirable part of the meal. THe service was prompt and the wines were reasonably priced (as are most things in Santiago).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donde Augusto also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Donde Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donde Augusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.