We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It became a tourist trap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Donde Augusto

Donde Augusto
Calle San Pablo 967 | Mercado Central, Santiago 8320009, Chile
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #875 of 3,454 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fresh Seafood in Mercado Centra
Weston, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It became a tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Donde Augusto, a restaurant located in the middle of the Santiago Central Market, used to be a landmark, where you go to enjoy the best of the Chilean seafood, excellent food, service, prices! Today, it had become a tourist trap, pricey, the waiters try to force you to have they crab (although huge and nice, it's the more expensive dish in their menu), and if you refuse, the service goes down the drain. The other dishes are just ok, bland most of the time.

Prices compared to the best places in Providencia and other nice zones of Santiago.

I used to go every time I visit Santiago. This was my last time!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    352
    289
    141
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had lunch here, enjoyed the seafood dishes. Had a chat with Augusto, and had a few very good laughs. The price for our lunch was reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was recommended to us by our hotel. They could have done better. This is at the Central Market, which is closed in the evenings. We arrived for dinner to find the market closed. Our hotel should have mentioned that to us before we headed over. The restaurant is on the backside of the market. Service was very good, and quick, which was great because we were starving. We had fish, and it was very good. Good choice if you are in the area, but don't go out of your way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
417 helpful votes 417 helpful votes
“What you eat is good, but odors can be a problem...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Yes, we were one of those very hot days(38°C in santiago) and perhaps for that the walk to Donde Augusto thru the mlarket was not so excellent than for others..
Food was correct-good ceviche, very nice crab, but one of our congrio was not enough cooked...
Dessert are not as good than the fish..;
Good berre, poor choice of wine by the glass.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“It's all about the atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The meal my friend and I had here was not memorable except for that it was overpriced. Particularly disappointed in the pebre, which was better everywhere else we ate in Chile. We stuck to seafood, which was nothing special and were glad we passed on the waiter's strong recommendation to have crab, which we later figured would have cost $90 each.
Service was very attentive for the first 3 minutes, and then we were mostly ignored.
However, the people watching was fabulous. Have a beer (or two, if you can get the waiter's attention) and check it out.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donde Augusto also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Donde Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donde Augusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.