We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice food not impressive place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astrid & Gaston

Astrid & Gaston
Antonio Bellet, 201 | Providencia, Santiago, Chile
56-2-26509125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 2,918 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Chilean, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Manaus
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“very nice food not impressive place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We loved the food and we had the tasting menu, staff was great also but we were not pleased by decoration

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    264
    136
    42
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAO PAULO
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“best lamb ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

ordered patagonia lamb. Best lamb of my life so far. The wine list is fantastic and the sommelier will help you pair the wine and food. Don't miss the experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Inventive Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our first night at Santiago was spent dining at Astrid and Gaston.

Excellent food, wines and lovely place.

Service first rate and by European standards extremely good value for money.

A must for foodies in Santiago.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try the sampler menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We dined here tonight and had the sampler nenu with wine pairings. We thought it was great and a nice way to try out the menu. Standouts were the ceviche and salmon with a risotto - like base and also the dessert sampling. The wine pairings were thoughtful and complementary but not stellar. Some reviews have mentioned it being overpriced, but we found it to be a great deal when compared to similar meals and wine in our home city of Dallas. We also thought the service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great spot for a finer dinner in Santiago that I have since recommended to friends as a romantic dinner location and to another friend as a good place to impress business guests. We truly enjoyed the room's layout and decor and found the service to be among the best we expereinced during our two week tour of Argentina and Chile. Everyone enjoyed their dinner selection and we spent a lot of energy sharing our personal choice with each other. The sommelier put us onto such a great bottle of Neyen Carmenere that I had to go to the winery itself later that week so that i could take more home!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrid & Gaston also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Astrid & Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astrid & Gaston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.