We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astrid y Gaston

Astrid y Gaston
Antonio Bellet 201 | Providencia, Santiago, Chile (Providencia)
2-2650-9125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,356 restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Providencia
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were heading to Peru at the end of our trip but couldnt wait to see what all the fuss was about. A great fusion of International and Peruvian cuisine. We had good service and we loved the interior layout. A great introduction to Peruvian cuisine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    596
    180
    89
    35
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really a good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is really good.
The cuisine is excellent with several fish options
The starters are very good followed by a nice Pisco Sauer
The service is good and the environment is nice
Check, you will not regret

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I was afraid that it was as overated as the one in Lima. Gladly I was wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went last year to Peru and tried Astrid and Gaston in Lima as it is rated one of the best restaurants in the world. I thought it was presuncious and overated so I was not planning to go there in Santiago. A friend of mine told me that it was a completely diferente experience and he was right. Much better place, food and service. This restaurant is definately one of the best ones in Santiago and it was a much more enjoyable atmosphere than in Lima. Do not miss!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I am sorry for the answers? Why is it food good?
My experience was terrible.
Last time I was in the private room (that means a especial dinner). The entrance are normal ones, no surprise. The food is not good. It is not a gastro experience and the price is EXORBITANT.
They don't know how to do a Risoto (was raw) and the maitre tried convince me that was a kind of Italian rice and was made like that. And was very deselegant because tried say that I do not know arborio rice. I am sorry I LOVE Risoto and I lived in Italy many years. THEY DO NOT KNOW HOW TO COCK THAT.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food doesn't get much better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My title says it all. If your budget allows, you must dine at this world-class restaurant. Unlike some other reviewers, we had no problems with service. Will be back the next time we are in Santiago.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrid y Gaston also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Astrid y Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astrid y Gaston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.