We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a good option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astrid y Gaston

Astrid y Gaston
Antonio Bellet 201 | Providencia, Santiago, Chile (Providencia)
2-2650-9125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,369 restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Providencia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really a good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is really good.
The cuisine is excellent with several fish options
The starters are very good followed by a nice Pisco Sauer
The service is good and the environment is nice
Check, you will not regret

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    610
    183
    89
    35
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I was afraid that it was as overated as the one in Lima. Gladly I was wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went last year to Peru and tried Astrid and Gaston in Lima as it is rated one of the best restaurants in the world. I thought it was presuncious and overated so I was not planning to go there in Santiago. A friend of mine told me that it was a completely diferente experience and he was right. Much better place, food and service. This restaurant is definately one of the best ones in Santiago and it was a much more enjoyable atmosphere than in Lima. Do not miss!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I am sorry for the answers? Why is it food good?
My experience was terrible.
Last time I was in the private room (that means a especial dinner). The entrance are normal ones, no surprise. The food is not good. It is not a gastro experience and the price is EXORBITANT.
They don't know how to do a Risoto (was raw) and the maitre tried convince me that was a kind of Italian rice and was made like that. And was very deselegant because tried say that I do not know arborio rice. I am sorry I LOVE Risoto and I lived in Italy many years. THEY DO NOT KNOW HOW TO COCK THAT.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food doesn't get much better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My title says it all. If your budget allows, you must dine at this world-class restaurant. Unlike some other reviewers, we had no problems with service. Will be back the next time we are in Santiago.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“could have easily been a perfect "5", if not for the terrible service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I went with a colleague last night and was very excited. I've been to a number of Gaston Acurio's restaurants and they are some of my favorites on the planet. We got reservations at 8:30 and were immediately seated upon arrival. I had hoped to sit in the main salon so we could see through to the kitchen, but alas, we were escorted upstairs and put in this little alcove of a room. We selected the Sampling Menu along with the wine pairing. Lindsey (see review below) did a fine job detailing the various courses, so I won't repeat them.
First appetizers arrive, but no paired wine. We waited for 7-10 minutes before finally flagging down a waiter. I don't mean to be difficult, but really, the whole point of the pairings is to have them at the same time, no? Then the second course arrived maybe ten minutes later. Again, no wine. We waited another 10 minutes (food getting cold), and they finally they bring the wine: the same one from the first course. At this point I very politely told the waiter that we preferred the win to come WITH the courses. All of this was a shame, because I can honestly say that the food itself was flawless. Spot on.
In any case the meal continued. We still hadn't received the water we asked for when we first arrived. I will say that the wine for the last 5 courses was served in conjunction with the arrival of said courses, but here's the thing: it was brought out in caraffes instead of the bottle itself. We would have liked to see what we were drinking, and honestly, I expected a little more in terms of interaction. In past experiences the staff have gone out of their way to let you know a little about the wine, why it is paired with the course, etc.
I wish I could write this off to one bad waiter, but the truth is that there were three waiters taking care of our area. The wait between the 4th and 5th course was 45 minutes and really the straw that broke the camel's back. At that point we just wanted the check.
All that said, the kitchen made NO mistakes. The food itself was incredible: creative and delicious. The sad truth is that I would go back. I just wouldn't rely on the wait staff. I'll order an appetizer and main course and a bottle of wine and eat at my own pace, not beholden to the waiters.
Truly a disappointment because this had the potential to be a wonderful experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrid y Gaston also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region

Been to Astrid y Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astrid y Gaston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.