We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arguably the best restaurant in Santiago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astrid & Gaston

Astrid & Gaston
Antonio Bellet, 201 | Providencia, Santiago, Chile
56-2-26509125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 3,265 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Peruvian, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Arguably the best restaurant in Santiago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Where to start? Probably the best cuisine in Santiago. Yes, it might be a bit on the expensive side, but it's worth it. If you enjoy food with some personality, then you can't go wrong with this restaurant. It can go from nuanced to racy in a hearbeat. Would love to try every dish, and probably have at some point or the other. The desserts are on a league of their own. Brilliant service and perhaps the best wine list of the country- if the food is expensive, the wines certainly are not.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    336
    166
    49
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not quite there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The service is excellent and the desserts are really the best. Maybe we ordered the wrong plates... we both got fish and tacu tacu. My partner got the "saltado de la temporada", and the salsa tasted simply like ketchup. I got the corvina, and it was dry and salty.

The entrees were very good, but not unforgettable.

The restaurant is very pricey. If it wasn't my review would have been more positive, It hurt to spend that much...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect service, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This restaurant exceeded our expections although I'd consider aourselves to be globetrotting gourmets. Service, sommelier, food and presentation were simply excellent.
To be highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife & I, together with my parents, decided to experience AyG from a recommendation from a colleague. My parents are globe trotting gourmands, and my wife & I are sommeliers. We placed ourselves in the hands of the Maitre 'd and the restaurant sommelier. Just an extrardinary experience in terms of food quality, innovation, presentation, wine pairing, atmosphere and service...So much so, that we made immediate reservations to return two days later. We were not disappointed. We all would recommend AyG without hesitation!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Why isn't this Number One?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

No pretentiousness with personal, attentive and friendly service - accomodating our lack of Spanish. The kitchen acquiesced to special menu modifications unhesitatingly with the manager's personal attention. We savoured exceptional flavours in both appetizers (sashimi...so beautiful and squash soup to die for) and then mains which our lovely Cab Sav/Carmenere blend complemented beautifully.
Desserts were a delicious way to end a "stand-out" meal.
The price seemed quite reasonable for this highly recommended restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrid & Gaston also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Astrid & Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astrid & Gaston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.