We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only good thing about this Hotel is Osaka Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W Santiago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W Santiago to your Saves list
W Santiago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Isidora Goyenechea 3000, Santiago 3000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 179 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florence, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The only good thing about this Hotel is Osaka Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Maybe I am not the right person to appreciate this type of Hotel. Don't get me wrong the hotel is great: the bars, the restaurants, everything! Great design but one thing is missing for me: the hotel that means service. As always in this type of hotel you have young and very goodlooking men and women working there. They love their earphones and mic and they all look like bodyguards or stage worker at a Broadway Show or at the Golden Globe awards. But when it comes to professionality and competence....it's another story... When I asked them where I could change as my room was not ready for check in they looked at me as if I were the first person having this type of need. At the end they sent me to the 21st floor but the elevators were out of service and they were like this for few hours (different elevators and alternatevely). I booked and I was confirmed in a smoking room and when I checked in they confirmed it but the room was not. The room is dark. As I said it's not the hotel fault it's mine because I am maybe too old and I start having problems with my eye sight in the dark. The safe did not work. I ordered dinner in the room: club sandwich with fries and caesar salad. The fries were uneatable (greasy), anchovies are supposed to be in the Nicoise (aren't they?) not in the Caesar and they were extremely salty. I was on a business trip and we booked a few rooms and a lunch for 15 pax at La Terrazza (nice food) I was the only one checking out immediately after the lunch so I asked if it would be possible to have a late check to change before going to the airport they agreed but only until 1.30 (in the middle of our lunch). So i took my bags and brought it to a colleague's room and when I got back to change after lunch the room was not serviced yet.
I wanted to put poor as an overall rating but I will put average because as I said it's my fault too in having chosen this type of hotel. We all know W and their target clientele so.... my fault. Las but not least OSAKA the peruvian/japanese restaurant is amazing!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    288
    125
    53
    32
See reviews for
101
372
53
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is the only W property in all of South America. It's got an amazing bar and pool at the top with views of the city. Rooms are also well up to W standards with an open shower I haven't seen at any other W. Overall the food choices and bar were were top notch as well. Also the gym is probably one of the best I've seen period although the sauna facilities are just ok. It's in the diplomatic neighbourhood with a very nice park right across the street.

I'm not sure why everyone is complaining about the service - my experience was very hospitable and professional with the exception of one incident. Yes it's true the chambremaids don't speak English... very similar to most American and Canadian hotels ;)
It's an expensive property though with daily rates in the US$400 range but definitely the place to stay if you have the means in Santiago.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Hi jurajil,
Thanks for the great feedback! We are so glad you had an incredible time with us! It is truly an amazing property!
Regards,
Natalia
W Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

On the first day of our stay, we went out for the day and when we arrived we discovered that our room hasn´t been serviced. We had to go to the reception to ask them to clean up the room. On the following days they never replaced the amenities, sometimes they did not replace some towels or glasses . We were two in the room and we had to share a glass for the hole stay !!! Some of the beverages wasn t replaced too , so we had to call the room service to replace them ...like water and coke. The were no bottle opener and de desk was all ruined because i believe all the guests uses it as the bottle opener. Even the sweet they used to leave by the bed in the afternoon sometimes there was only one ! No attention to the costumer at all. Also the hair dryer was really bad and was broken and we have to ask for an extra one. The broken one was left there all the time, i left with the impression that after our stay the extra one was going to be colected again and the next guest will have to use the broken one again. The concierge made some reservations for us , nome of them was left in the room , so every night we had to go dowstairs and ask someone to look up for the adresses and directions. One Night the concierge assistent gave us the wrong adress , in the other side of the town , we lost our dinner and US 50 in a taxi fee. Another night we went to the club inside the hotel and the concierge hasn´t done our reservation as we asked. The pool area is very nice with a very beatiful bar that works only at night??? so if you wantt a drink or something you have to call room service and wait.

Overall as all W hotels the design is nice, the neighborhood is very plesant with many restaurants, the lobby and room are beautiful. The room has a good size and a large bathroom . The breakfast was good and the food service overall was good.

The thing is, we have already stayed in many other W hotels like South Beach and Hong Kong and this one definitelly does not achieve the satandards of the others . So if you are looking for a design hotel , nice and clean ok , but if you wan something extra special this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Hello!
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We regret that we didn´t meet your expectations and rest assure we will share these comments with the rest of the team.
We thank guest for taking their time in giving us this feedback as it helps us improve our product and service!
Please if you ever come back to Santiago we hope you give us a second chance to reverse this impression you left with us.
Regards,
Natalia
W Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Rooms were well appointed and laid out but not overly large. Everything was high quality and the service was, overall, excellent. The front desk folks were so eager to please and provided us with everything we needed as the Concierge never seemed to be around. We loved the pool and bar on the 21st floor which had beautiful views and beautiful people- day and night! The hotel breakfast was abundant and had everything you could ask for. Dinner at Osaka was delicious and interesting & well above the usual hotel fare. The health club was the BEST I have ever seen at any hotel anywhere and its a MUST do! Overall, an awesome hotel for any reason you find yourself in Santiago.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Hi Nyerr,
Thank you for your great review!
I am sorry you never caught our concierge, as they are a great team.
Did you go to their desk on the first floor?
I hope you come back in the future and enjoy the W Santiago experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I hosted a business dinner and exerienced all of the aspects of previous Trip Advisor reviews: A beautiful property (the view from the swimming pool is spectacular), a wonderful property in the midst of an upscale neighborhood, and non-existent service in the 4th floor lobby bar, with only slightly better service (should I say "inattentive"?) in the Noso restaurant. However--the food at NOSO was wonderfully prepared and the presentations were eye catching. I found the prices about average for a chain hotel--over priced by what can be found at good restaurants "on the street".

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

W Santiago is a very stylish hotel located in probably the nicest neighborhood of Santiago.
The rooms are modern and very spacious with a huge bathroom and comfortable beds.
The service was a bit of a let down considering the quality of the hotel, e.g. it took the concierge 20 minutes to organize a taxi. Moreover, the guys at the reception left quite an arrogant impression with us and didn't even find it necessary to explain the amenities of the property.
The bars on the 4th floor and roof top are very hip and seem to be hot spots for the nightlife in Santiago.
The roof top pool also looks great and offers magnificent views, too bad it had to be closed because of some sort of promotion for sunglasses when we wanted to use it.
This was the only hotel I stayed at in Argentina/Chile which didn't have free WiFi even though it was the most expensive (although there are some free internet stations next to the reception). On the other hand, the fitness centre is one of the best I have seen so far in any hotel and it was free of charge.
To sum it up, the W Santiago is an excellent and very hip hotel which should just have its service match the $400 that guests have to pay per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Hello MDMC,
Thank you for your review and comments! We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and we will definately pass on your comments to our Welcome Office team. Service is very important for us and this type of feedback is always appreciated.
Thanks again!
Natalia Castillo
W Insider & Quality Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

All style of substance. It is two years since I last stayed here, and I know it will be off the list for a very long time. Service is slow at every level: bar, restaurant and concierge are all out to lunch and the housekeeping is poor. Given this hotel is located in the diplomatic district, there is barely anything other than Spanish spoken.

Nice views from the roof top, but that is insufficient to draw me back in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Santiago

Address: Isidora Goyenechea 3000, Santiago 3000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#25 Business Hotel in Santiago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#29 Family Hotel in Santiago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Santiago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Santiago reinvents the style and sophistication, becoming an icon for fashion and tendency in the city. Enjoy the WET(R) (swimming pool) with panoramic view of Santiago. Embrace yourself with the exuberating unique colors and flavors that our restaurants and bars offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your W Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Santiago Hotel Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Santiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.