We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santiago Hillside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Santiago Hillside Hotel to your Saves list
Santiago Hillside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Camino a Farellones 15201, Santiago 7591511, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Marbella
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Although hotel is on the far end of Las Condes, the peace and quiet is worth it.
Great ambiance with lovely staff and very helpful proprietor Andrea and husband Jorge.
Hotel is beautiful, views are stunning with eagles floating in the sky against backdrop of the Andes mountains. Place to bring my wife to.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    18
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
14
37
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

I stayed at Santiago Hillside Hotel in early September and it was nothing but a pleasure. The hotel staff and Jorge, the owner, were beyond helpful. Their knowledge of Santiago and the surrounding regions made getting around and doing everything we wanted to do on our trip easy and accessible.

The room itself was luxurious with a great view, clean and modern bathroom, and the bed was THE best hotel bed I've ever slept in.....without a doubt.

The hotel is about an hour's drive to the Tres Valles Ski resorts and a short cab ride to downtown Santiago. We skiied 4 of the 6 days we stayed at this hotel and each day met us with a quick ride to the mountain followed by a full day of sunny spring skiing.

There are several restaurants within walking distance, but overall the hotel is in a quiet gated community. The gourmet breakfast also deserves mention, as it was delicious.

We also stayed 3 nights at Santiago's sister hotel in Valparaiso. The Valparaiso Vineyard Inn was an equally amazing experience. The hotel itself is a little more eclectic in style than the Santiago Hillside Hotel, but equally as luxurious with the same quality of service. Valparaiso as a town is artsy and fun with plenty of restaurants and nightlife and easy access to the towns of Vina del Mar and Recon.

I will definitely be staying at these hotels my next visit to Chile, which can not come too soon.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

From the minute we had our first contact to the minute we left we had a lovely service. Nice location, excellent service, great rooms, extraordinary house. All in all, a wonderful place that felt like home away from home rather than a hotel. My colleague enjoyed it as much as I did. 4 days of hard work and coming late to have a rest, oh! I must say a special thanks to Veronica who brought me plenty of hot tea, cake and some wine. I rested well and was better the next day starting with a tasty breakfast: ready for our busy day schedule!
Veronica and Andrea do an exquisite job: MY CONGRATULATIONS

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

The hotel was wonderful, and Jorge showed us the hospitality of family with the service of a great hotel. The area was very nice on the hillside and a bit outside Santiago in a more peaceful area. Although the immediate area didnt have much in the way of tourist activity, evqerythng was easily accesible by cab. The staff helped us with all of our needs and navigating the area. The breakfast was great as well. Be sure to check out Jorge's hotel in Valpo as well, it's even more stunning!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We found this gem of a boutique hotel only 25 minutes from the Santiago airport and a perfect escape to peace and fresh air on our break from travelling from Rapa Nui and on to Canada. Breathtaking views of the Andes, attentive and friendly service, immaculate rooms and delicious meals. What more could you ask?..... a visit from friendly Jorge! Thanks for a perfect respite in a busy travel schedule....Tom and Peggy English, West Vancouver BC Canada

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We planned on skiing at the resorts close to Santiago, so the location this hotel turned out better than expected. We originally wanted to stay at the ski resorts, but once we visited the resorts and saw how small they were we're glad we stayed at this hotel, as it gave us the option of spending a little more time driving, but being able to visit 3 different resorts. Plus, the cost of staying at the ski resorts was very expensive. The hotel is charming and has a great gourmet breakfast. The staff prepared breakfast for us earlier 2 of the days we stayed so we could get on the road earlier for travel purposes. The room we stayed in (Condor - I think it was the smallest room) was nice and was nicely decorated. The architecture of the great room (lobby) is beautiful as it has lots of windows with great views of the mountains. My only negative was that because they hadn't had snow in 3 weeks, after 3 days we asked if it would be possible to get a refund on our remaining 4 nights so that we could travel south to another ski resort in hopes of finding more snow. We were told that the hotel did not give refunds, but would allow us to keep the credit and return at a later date for the remaining nights we paid for. I understand not wanting to give money back, but that is a great way to build customer loyalty (make the customer happy). We really enjoyed the rest of our stay anyway, and in the end were glad that we stayed the entire time and would encourage anyone else to stay there (just make sure when you make the reservation you will definitely want to stay there the entire time due to the refund policy).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

From the moment we arrived to our final goodbyes, we thought we were at home (with a chef)... Andrea, Veronica, Jorge and Phillip were more than accommodating and setup everything we needed for a wonderful stay in Chile. The breakfast surpassed delicious and was perfect before our day on the slopes. And a follow up dinner when we came back was even more amazing. The hospitality, cleanliness and personal touch of the hotel far exceeded our expectations and we were planning our trip back before we left. We consider all them our friends and we look forward to seeing you all again next season.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santiago Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Hillside Hotel

Address: Camino a Farellones 15201, Santiago 7591511, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santiago Hillside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous boutique hotel and abode, partly built by Chilean national sculptor/artist "Francisco Gazitua," located on 7 green, wildlife filled, walled guard gated acres of Andes Mountains Hillside, on one of the most prestigious and exclusive neighborhoods of Santiago. Fantastic views of the Andes, Mapocho River, Cerro Pochoco Observatory and the entire Valley of Santiago. Up nearly 1500 feet of elevation near San Enrique Square in Lo Barnechea and Las Condes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santiago Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santiago Hillside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.