We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anakena

Anakena
Av kennedy 4601 - las condes, Santiago 7560994, Chile
+56 2 2950 3179
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 3,454 Restaurants in Santiago
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the gardens of the hotel, Anakena offers exotic specialties from Thailand and other parts of the world, prepared with fresh seafood and meat, prepared in the continental, grilled or Thai style. A variety of delicious dishes are offered, with a full salad bar and tempting desserts. Hours Open Monday to Sunday
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It's delicious!! Especially, the rice is wonderful.
If you stay in hyatt, you must go this restaurant and order chicken and another dishes.
But the price is not kind....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt S, Director General at Anakena, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your visit and for your very positive comments about our gastronomy.
We will be pleased to have you back in any of our three restaurants.
Sincerely,
Peter Roth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    70
    28
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice spot but average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I usually temper my expectations of Asian food in chile but I don't understand why it's so hard to get it really good. The atmosphere is nice, the food is ok but I have only been a couple of times for convenience. Wish it could be great and I would be back more often

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt S, Director General at Anakena, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your comments about our Asian gastronomy. Our Executive Chef and myself are aware of your feedback, and we will continue working hard in order to reach the highest level of quality for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you soon at Anakena restaurant in the near future.
Sincerely, Peter Roth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is not a restaurant worthy of its location, which is probably one of the best in the city. It's certainly not worth the price. The food seems unworthy of the hype, as Santiago's restaurant offer increases. The service wasn't particularly good, which is surprising as the hotel has some superb service. Anakena needs to step up its game and soon, or reinvent itself like the Ritz just did with its restaurants.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt S, Director General at Anakena, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We feel very disappointed when we are not able to reach your expectations, and please rest assured that we are working hard in order to improve our service.
We look forward to welcoming you soon in the near future.
Best regards, Peter Roth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It is located in the first floor of the Hyatt hotel and overlooks the garden and pool, it is very beautiful.

Eventhough the restaurant lacks of ambience itself, the food is very good, so if you want to go for thai and don't care much about the ambience, this is your place. The Pad Thai is fantastic and the curries are excellent.

In summer it may be a lot better because the terrace is open and you can seat outside in the garden, but in winter is not so much fun.

Anyway, the food makes it worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt S, Director General at Anakena, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Mr.
Thank you very much for your very positive comments about our gastronomy.

Please rest assured that we are working hard all the time, in order to improve.

Your feedback is highly appreciated, so thank you very much for taking the time.

We look forward to welcoming you to Anakena in the near future.


Best regards,
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Anakena is in the Grand Hyatt hotel complex, but a separate building, with a very nice ambience. We went for lunch on a Monday, which was a la carte.

Tum Yum soup with prawns was good, but not spicy at all, a bit bland, but nice on a cold day. They kindly brought chili sauce on the side, so we spiced it up ourselves. Chicken and beef satays were quite good, but i would have preferred if served hot, rather than room temperature. But the taste was good and the peanut sauce was excellent.

We shared an entree of Prawns with basil and that was excellent, very spicy, large serving with white rice. The highlight of our meal.

Service was prompt, but not special, staff had good language skills. Restaurant seemed clean. We shared soup, satays, and entree, along with 3 non-alcoholic beverages and the bill with tip was about $80. But servings were large and good for sharing. I would recommend for special occasion or if, like us, one has an urge for Thai food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anakena also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Anakena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anakena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.