We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a tourist trap ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Galeon

El Galeon
San Pablo 943 local 26, Mercado Central, Santiago, Chile (Centro Histórico)
5626964258
Improve this listing
Ranked #419 of 2,853 Restaurants in Santiago
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chilean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro Histórico
Auckland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Definitely a tourist trap ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended by a guide to this place. We ordered the king crab , plus empanadas. Frankly the king crab was quite tasteless. The location in the central market is the main attraction, not the food. Pricey and over-rated.

There were a couple of guys who were playing the guitar and singing. We thought the entertainment was provided FOC by the restaurant. WRONG!! These guys came around asking for tips!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    201
    115
    42
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Food is good, not excelent. Main plates: trout, scrimps, giant crabs (centollas). Attention is good, this is not a scenic place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is your typical tourist trap - not only is the food average at best, but it's also a complete rip-off. We had a mixed seafood dish in garlic broth, which was 'rubbery' (ie chewy, not fresh). The predatory international staff hustle you in front of the restaurant's three locations at the market with promises of included drinks and special offers, and in retrospect we should have known better, but the menu looked good enough and we just wanted to sit down at this stage.
I did notice some other guests enjoying their food, but my advice is to steer clear. Go where Chileans go to eat instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Total Rip Off!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were advised to seek out the El Galeon restaurant whilst in Santiago. After looking at the menu (all in spanish) we asked for some assistance in choosing a platter for two - we had decided to treat ourselves to something that offered the variety available and were prepared for the $125 price tag attached to the selection we made. The waiter who assisted us with the order asked if we'd like anything to accompany the platter and suggested a side order of crayfish, which we agreed to on the incorrect assumption that it would add a slight premium to the check - we were presented with a total bill of $280! So they more than doubled the total expected bill, without warning us of the significant adjustment our 'side order' would cause, for a meal that would compare to the most average of seafood dishes I have ever experienced anywhere else in the world - I'd rather have eaten a take out from one of the other stands at the market and saved the money - be warned!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lacks Truth in Advertizing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This restaurant seems to be a big favorite in Santiago. It is located by the city fish market. Our driver (who took us into Santiago from Valparaiso, pointed it out and suggested it as a great place. Later that afternoon we had a driver/guide who also endorsed the place.

When we arrived we were met on the street curb by a staff member of the restaurant who said he lived in Virginia. He provided us warm welcome in perfect English, and menu and said the fish plate and individual Paella serving was not too much food. (We were two and pointedly asked "Is this too much food?". His reply was 'no'.

The food was enough to feed eight starving teenagers! A plate with a mountain of fish (which tasted fresh and pretty good) and a huge bowl of Paella (also good).

Our criticism strictly concerns the falsehood uttered to us. The tab (only two small bottles of water as drinks; no dessert) came to 60,0000 Chilean Pesos ($115 USD). There was no way we could save the food as a doggie bag meal for another day.

We truly felt suckered.

Lesson learned for future visitors: Order one dish for two people (half portions) if they will do it.

(We REALLY should have known better! and hope that now you know better too!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Galeon also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to El Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Galeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.