We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart deal !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sushiban

Sushiban
Av. Vitacura 5255, Santiago, Chile (Vitacura)
2186454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #755 of 2,918 Restaurants in Santiago
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vitacura
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Smart deal !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very good environment. Populated by people from Santiago, it is not a very popular and fashion restaurant but something that has the quality and is appreciated by local people.
Sushi was beautiful and tasty.
Price OK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Decent,but not the real thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have been trying several teppanyaki restaurants all over the world, even in Malaysia, Cuba and ... Belgium. Although we know teppanyaki is not really typical Japanese kitchen (at least my Japanese colleagues say it's only for tourists), we just love it. The strange thing is that all teppanyaki chefs seem to have followed the same course somewhere, because their show is always more or less the same. Not here.
Sushiban is located in a neighbourhhood with plenty of affordable restaurants from various nationalities. You would expect to find something really Japanese inside. We didn't. Previous reviewers mentioned the sushi wasn't really sushi. We can say the teppanyaki was not really teppanyaki, but more wok on a flat plate. Still healthy, not bad, but a different flavour.
Service was a little uncertain, hesitant, as if it was their first evening. Conclusion: decent, but not the real thing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Teppanyaki Spectaki!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A group of business colleagues and I went to Sushiban for a sushi dinner. The sushi was decent, nothing to write home about.

We returned back to Sushiban to sample their teppanyaki menu and what a fabulous surprise! Although we did not have reservations, our waiter Claudio managed to fit us into a grill table.

First, we were served a lovely chicken stock soup followed by a refereshing garden salad with a ginger dressing. Then arrived Carlos, the teppanyaki chef who wowed us with his skill using cooking utensils. He sliced, diced, flipped, twisted and flambed our food. He even manged to flip a shrimp over his shoulder which landed in my bowl of fried rice. I loved the interaction between him and our group.

The chef hardly used any seasoning, the natural flavours of the vegetables and meat really stood out. We had the opportunity to sample each other's dishes as Carlos would divide up the leftovers. It is hard to go wrong with anything on the menu.

Overall, it was a fantastic experience, with delicous food, a gread deal of attention to service and of course good company.

Definitely, a must-have if in the Las Condes area in Santiago.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly bad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I'm shocked at my experience. First: the sushi doesn't smell like fish - not to even mention fresh fish. It's also rather colorless and one of my salmon rolls was coated in some sort of vegetable oil to make it shiny. What's going on here? Are these tricks to cover old or inferior-quality fish.

The second problem is rather typical in non-Japanese owned sushi places: the rice is overcooked, overpressed and too sweet due to too much mirin during preparation. Sad.

I didn't finish my plate.

The staff was friendly and attentive and I was glad for that.

Still, the sushi was unforgivable and no one who knows sushi would go there. Santiago, you deserve much better.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pretty decent place for a sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Sushiban is very consistent. It doesn´t have amazing or very creative sushi but the fish is always fresh and the price good for what they offer. Also their japanese steak house, benihana style, is very good with the show everyone expects to see.

Place is clean and the service is all right as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushiban also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Sushiban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushiban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.