We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Backstage

Backstage
Constitucion 40, L. 57, Patio Bellavista, Providencia | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago, Chile
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #639 of 3,194 Restaurants in Santiago
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Italian, Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Food took forever to arrive and when it finally arrived it was cold and bland, I watched a few couples walk out due to the delays in delivering the food. Not our best experience in Chile

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    105
    54
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari, Italy
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Badly cooked and badly tasting food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant two years after my first visit. It did not impressed me very much the first time, but I was there and decided to give a second chance. I had chicken meat, and the meat was pink. There is only one way to cook chicken: well done. So, I left almost all my chicken. Plus the sides, vegetables and rice, were not very tasty. If you decide to go to this place and order empanadas (the crust of which was also badly cooked) beware your theet, as olives in the filling are not pitted.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food I had in chile in 3 weeks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were there for lunch on a Sunday afternoon. A nice table outside. We ordered pasta with prawns, it was juicy, rich in seafood and cook al dente and a salad. The salad was the highlight, parma ham, bufala mozzarella, rocket, cherry tomatoes, abundant and tasty!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food but bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Been there last week and had the most delicious salad with the biggest mozzarella di bufalla and also a great Pina Colada but the service was really bad, we had to advise the waiter twice about our pina colada and 3 times about the water I ordered, it was ok for us because we had plenty of time but I think they should put more staff as the restaurant was extremelly busy and only few waiters to attend the whole crowd.
Apart from that it is a nice place to eat, good food and drinks and live music!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We picked this place for our one dinner out in Santiago - what a mistake. Although it looked nice from the square and seemed popular, do not be fooled and lured in by its good location.

The service was terrible from start to finish. We waited 35 minutes for our drinks - we were actually walking out just as they arrived and were guilted into sitting back down. Another big mistake. We waited yet another 40 minutes for our food - which was half cold in one case and not properly cooked in the other.

Already infuriated, we then had to practically chase the waiter round the restaurant to get our change - which was only handed over once we had spoken to the manager.

Many other tables seemed to be having a similar experience and the table next to us also complained.

Terrible - do not waste your money here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstage also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Backstage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backstage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.