We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When the place is packed, the waiters are busy!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De la Ostia

De la Ostia
Orrego Luco 065, Santiago, Chile (Providencia)
3351422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #469 of 2,942 Restaurants in Santiago
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Providencia
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“When the place is packed, the waiters are busy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We went to this place three times within five days.To all those negative reviewers, the waiters here are run off their feet because the place is always busy. Why is it always busy, because the Tapas are authentic,taste great and are quite inexpensive add to that a good wine selection at reasonable prices. So if you are in a hurry don't go to De la Ostia, but if you want a relaxed fun night out with good food and wine this is the place. You don't need to speak spanish as the menu has photo's of all the dishes. The menu's are on paper tablecloths we were so impressed with the food we asked for our table menu, they brought us a new one all rolled up. In closing I just want to say be nice to your waiter and he will be nice to you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    67
    31
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worse service ever! Muy mala educación!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was there for a drink and some food late in the evening. Even if the food was pretty delicious, we didn't have such a great experience: the staff was annoying and not welcoming and we had to ask many times for ordering.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osorno, Chile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cojonudo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

You feel in Spain. The tapas and pintxos are stunning! Dont miss the Cojonudo. The drink a little expensive but well done. Funny people, relax and cool.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Average tapas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A tapas place off the main road with sidewalk tables and indoor bar/tables. Tried a few tapas, tortilla and sangria, overall average.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst service ever !!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I had the worst experience ever, will never go back, tons of other places where you can have great food and service as well !!!
Por favor no ir !!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaostia, Propietario at De la Ostia, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Lucy: Lamentamos si ha tenido una mala experiencia en nuestro local. Quisiéramos saber si es posible nos indique el día y la hora que estuvo aquí y qué fue exactamente lo malo que ocurrió. Si lo desea puede escribir a delaostia@delaostia.cl. Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De la Ostia also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to De la Ostia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De la Ostia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.