We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Santiago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Nacional 1

Bar Nacional 1
Huerfanos, 1151, Santiago, Chile (Centro Histórico)
56-2-26965986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #223 of 3,226 Restaurants in Santiago
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro Histórico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Santiago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The food is allright and the Pisco has a bit more alcohol, than usual.
But, if you are looking for a typical, old-fashioned bar you are on the right spot. A very welcome difference to the hip restaurants and bars elaewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    88
    26
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really depends on what you are looking for...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Reasonably priced food, with nicely-sized portions and good service. No frills. If you want to get some honest, tasty food in a place where the locals go, that's for you. If you are a posh tourist looking for an exotic chilean experience, do yourself a favor and go elsewhere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“What I love about this place are the waiters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What I love about this place are the waiters. Nowadays you have so very few places who employ senior waiters or even keep them so long. This is one reason why I feel so comfortable when I go to Bar Nacional: nothing can go wrong, I rely entirely on the experience of this wonderful people. As for the menu - good, old Chilean specialities, old fashion tasty food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great local food at local pricing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Try the raspberry juice!! I got hooked on it!
Its typical for Santiagos city center, didn't meet any tourists just locals. Portions are big and delicious.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love this place, a homely "caff".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If I lived in Santiago, I would be a regular. Nothing fancy but that is part of the charm - honest, simple food cooked with love and served in good sized portions. Great place to go for typical dishes like pastel de choclo. I like that you can go at any time of day - they have a drinks licence so you could go in the evening as well as for lunch for a healthier fresh juice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Nacional 1 also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Bar Nacional 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Nacional 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.