We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dreams Valdivia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dreams Valdivia to your Saves list
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carampangue 190, Valdivia, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Valdivia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dreamy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the accommodations at Dreams as well as the location. Having lived in Las Vegas I was gun shy about staying at a casino hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room was very airy and I had a great deck facing the river. The breakfast was incredible... fresh, fresh fresh... take advantage of the salmon, some of the best I've ever had. I highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting this region.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights rest do not get a room facing the river. The sea lions bark incessantly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    101
    26
    12
    1
See reviews for
69
142
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dfw
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is extremely nice, The staff ere very helpfull giving me directions and advice is very good english. Although they all dont speak english they all tried to help me with my modest Spanish. Room Quality was goo big room, free wifi worked well, Resaurant was also good and i got good close advice on other alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vina del Mar, Chile
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the 3rd time we return to this hotel.
Check in went very smooth, no problem to change room. Friendly and smily staff!
Nice and clean room ith an exelente view!
When you ask for something, you get it right away!
Brekfast buffet was good, enough thing to choose from.

For sure we will come back to this hotel, I we come back to Valdivia! :-)

Room Tip: Ask for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

You can't miss this 12-story hotel and casino that towers above Valdivia, and is most likely the best hotel in town. Being large, it is also impersonal, but we had a nice, modern room with a balcony overlooking the river. The bathroom was fairly large and had glass windows to the bedroom. Breakfast was an abundant buffet on the 12th floor, and we could request an omelette made to order.

The riverfront seemed rather rough, especially after dark, and had no shops along it. However, the drive west of town to Niebla and then north along the coast until the road ended was a beautiful drive. The area reminded us of Big Sur, minus all of the development.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
633 helpful votes 633 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It's no wonder why this fantastic hotel (modelled after Burj Al Arab?) is Valdivia's best rated. Rooms are clean and spacious (32 square metres for a standard and about 50 for a junior suite which is well worth paying a little extra for). The tallest building in Valdivia, it affords excellent views of both Río Valdivia and Río Calle-Calle. Units facing the former overlook the active waterfront while the opposite side tends to be quieter. Parking is free, breakfast wonderful and the heated swimming pool state-of-the-art. Staff, some English-speaking, are always willing to suggest attractions or book restaurants for us. At the weekend the casino seems popular among local gamblers but it's not very big or noisy.

For seismologists, the top-floor restaurant with stunning views where breakfast is served is famous for the 2010 earthquake clip that has gone viral. (When we watched it at the bar, one waiter even jokingly pointed to us where he was.) Luckily no one in Valdivia died in that catastrophe.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on upper floors. Those facing Río Valdivia have better views but the opposite side te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here on the 28th of March, family of four, two small kids. Cost about $200 per night. Great hotel, truly world class, very modern including the rooms. Did not hear any noise from the city. Locations is excellent, about two blocks from plaza and fish market. Great balcony views from room, pick river view. Breakfast was great on the 12th floor with excellent views of the city. Pool looked great, too bad we got there late and had to leave early, we will stay here next time we come. Service and staff were very good. Did not visit the casino.

Room Tip: Check in early and relax in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Enjoyed my stay here. Big room with a large balcony overlooking the river and the town. Very picturesque. Staff were helpful. Great breakfast, Good parking. I would ask for a river view if you are staying here. Laundromat down the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dreams Valdivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dreams Valdivia

Address: Carampangue 190, Valdivia, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Rios Region > Valdivia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Valdivia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dreams Valdivia 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dreams Valdivia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dreams Valdivia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.