We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bosque Nativo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bosque Nativo to your Saves list
Bosque Nativo
Fresia 290, Valdivia, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hostel in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hostel has everything you need and want; great kitchen, really nice lounge area and very comfy beds. It was really chilly when we were in Valdiva, but the fire was always lit and it was lovely and warm! The location is good to explore the local area, which is easily done on foot. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
25
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This hostel is from a non-profit organisation and the funds help to maintain the native forests in Chile. So you will not expect a luxury hostel, but it is built with a lot of wood (each room has another type of wood for the walls and furniture) what gives a very cosy feeling.

As volunteers are working as receptionists, service may be different from time to time. At our time it was okay.

The only really uncomfortable issue is that the wooden walls are too thin, you can hear all steps on the stairs and outside your bedroom door. So this hostel is not the best option if you want to stay more than one or two nights.

The bathroom was basic, very small, but clean.

The common area where you get breakfast was a dream - full of light, inventive furniture -and free internet.

As the location of the hotel is near to the center (although in a very quiet street), I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

The hostel Bosque Nativo is one of the nicer hostels I've seen. The interior is themed in native wood, and the common rooms have books and forest products to look at, while relaxing in the lounge, giving it a cozy warm feel. Common areas were clean, had wireless internet and easy access for cooking in the nicely stocked kitchen. The staff was attentive, and accommodating, especially on cold nights, where they had an assortment of warm woolly slippers for all the guests! There is even a rooftop deck that has a great view of Valdivia - this was a super find during the quiet afternoon. The location, on a quiet neighborhood side street could not be better for walking around town or easy access to the bus depot. The only negative I would give it would be the tiny shower space with no place to hang your towel while showering. And it was only sometimes running warm water.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We went with a group of 11 students from North Carolina State University to study conservation management in the Valdivian Temperate Forests. The hostel was great for our large group. We had a wonderful asado there and it was very convenient to downtown and teh University Austral de Chile. In addition, we really appreciated all the information in the hostel on native forests. I would recommend this hostel to anyone for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights after the Aires Buenos Hostel lost our reservation (despite it being confirmed two days prior). Our first impression was good. It's on a quiet street, yet still close to town. The building is quaint and has beautiful wood throughout and was kept relatively clean. The kitchen and dining area are nice.

However, the main purpose of lodging is sleeping, and for this reason I cannot give this place higher than a 3 rating. The family that runs the hostel is incredibly noisy, and the walls don't dampen their cacaphony at all. Both nights we could hear their TV and loud talking until 2am, as well as their playing with a little child.

Additionally, the front desk was often not staffed, making it tough to get help. You also had to ring the doorbell to be let in, which wouldn't be an issue if there was always someone to let you in.

We wanted to like this place, but the sleep deprivation wouldn't let us. If Bosque Nativo were run more professionally, it would probably be the best budget option in Valdivia.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Such a beautiful place! everything is great. So quiet and warm, I hope come back soon with more time to enjoy all Valdivia's details. It's a nice "bosque nativo" hostel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bosque Nativo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque Nativo

Address: Fresia 290, Valdivia, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Rios Region > Valdivia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Valdivia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Bosque Nativo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosque Nativo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.