We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Temuca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Frontera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Frontera to your Saves list
Hotel Frontera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Bulnes 733-726, Temuco, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Temuco
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Temuca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were directed to this hotel as most others were filled so late in the day. It was being renovated, but the rooms were neat and clean. WI-FI was fast, dinner in the restaurant was awesome - service great and friendly. A good value. We would stay here again.
Jonathan & Tricia

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
11
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If your top concern is price then you are welcome to stay here. It is modestly priced. Also in an area close to restaurants, markets and offices. Breakfast is also modest. However for all other reasons avoid this place. There is no AC in the rooms. There was a fan that shared same socket with the TV, so anytime I wanted to watch the TV I had to turn off the fan. The sockets in my room were too few. The furniture in the room and the bathroom is sub par. The mini-bar is nothing to consider and the fridge is almost empty. The towels are old and I felt very uncomfortable in the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a modestly priced downtown hotel with modest but clean rooms with decent bed, small TV, hardwood floors and a pretty good restaurant. The hotel’s attraction is its location in the center of the city with proximity to restaurants, the large handicraft market, the huge food market, a movie theater and shopping. Temuco is not a great tourist town. For travelers only passing through, perhaps try the Holiday Inn Express 4.4 km from downtown. The Hotel Frontera offers free Wi-Fi and 2 or 3 free internet computers in a room off reception.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This place is aging, but is still in decent condition, and had a decent breakfast in the morning. A comfortable stay, yet unremarkable. I expected a little bit more for the money (about $100 US).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Creek
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed in this hotel one night. It was awful. The noise from outside the hotel was continuous - people yelling in the street until 4 Am, when it rained and finally got quiet. The floors in our room were actually sticky they were so dirty. On the plus side, the WiFi (free) works, the staff is friendly and the parking is secure. However, I'd rather sleep in my car - at least I'd get some rest.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Oh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

We pulled into the city after hours of driving, road weary. Very busy city and I found it difficult to drive probably because we had a 4x4 truck. They came outside and walked us thru the traffic to the parking garage. Helped get the truck parked. I did not have a reservation but was given a magnificent suite. I am just learning spanish and they provided someone to help with the language. I do a great deal of travel throughout the world and I can say this has to be one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. The bathroom is a spa all within itself. There was a minor problem with the air conditioner and it was immediately taken care of, actually before I even knew there was a problem. I was then brought a gift of a beautifully constructed fruit platter. I feel like a queen!! There is a coffee pot with a full bag of coffee, microwave, refrigerator, multiple rooms, two bathrooms. Perfect internet connection!!!!! Thank you Thank you Thank you. Especially thank you Antonio, you are a true gentleman and have gone WAY beyond the job of making us feel welcome and at home!!!! I really can't say enough about the hotel. I am amazed!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Hotel Frontera is actually two buildings across the street from each other. I stayed in the original, older building. The room was great- hardwood floors and very clean. TV with a variety of channels. Wi-Fi worked in my room although some of my colleagues who stayed on higher floors said it did not (I was on the second floor). There are two computers off the lobby that had internet access and worked pretty well. Great breakfast (huge spread!) included every morning. I don't recall the rate being more that $60 per night. The hotel is walking distance (5 min) to the center of town, and near a small park. Not being in the center of town it is more quiet. Temuco is not exactly a tourist city, but if you find yourself there, the Hotel Frontera will serve you well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Frontera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frontera

Address: Manuel Bulnes 733-726, Temuco, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Temuco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Temuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Frontera 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Frontera turns 65 years in hospitality industries in Southern Chile. Our purpose is to make feel happiness and get 100% customer satisfaction by promoting a professional model of care. At Frontera Hotels we know that small innovations generate great satisfaction. The goal of our team will always find something you want to try to do better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Frontera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Frontera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.