We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a setting !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge El Taique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lodge El Taique to your Saves list
Lodge El Taique
Sector El Taique, Puyehue 5290000, Chile   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Puyehue B&B and Inns
vancouver
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“What a setting !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent two nights at El Taique
Directions provided by the lodge made it easy to find and even the gravel road wasnt too bad.
We were warmly welcomed by Michael and Layla, the St Bernard. Michael quickly had our days planned with some excellent suggestions.
Our room was snug and comfortable. Bed was comfortable and there was storage space for hang up clothing. Bathroom was compact and had a nice walk in shower. There was lots of hot water.
Breakfast was very generous with the addition of quiche, omelettes and scrambled eggs to the standard continental fare. Its a bit of a drive out of the lodge so had both dinners there. There was a good range of options, all reasonable priced. We ate well with the Chilean steak standing out.
The setting of the lodge is awesome. We lucked out withe weather and some stunning views of Orsono and Puntiagudo volcanos. Plus its a nice easy drive to Aquas Caliente and the National Park.
Only draw back is limited internet. We did get it to work but its slow and a bit hit and miss?Michael is working on this and hopefully it wil be improved shortly..this limitation is a small price to pay for the tranquility and quiet of the lodge.
It was a great two days..reasonably priced and were glad we stayed with Michael, Audry and Sarah ( and Layla).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

As we travelled Los Lagos at the end of low season, we were lucky enough to get the whole El Taique lodge for ourselves, together with its wonderful jovial owners - Michael and Audrey, who made our evenings complete with a good talk and laugh.
Perfectly quiet place with nice views, amazing sunsets and the brightest stars I have ever seen in a night sky.
There are great dinners in the lodge restaurant run by Michael, and plentiful breakfasts in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I usually visit this area, but it is the first time I really stay in a amazing place and have a personalized attention with unique quality. The lodge is so comfortable with tasteful details, especially living and commons areas, the rooms are minimalist because the important thing is nature.
The homemade breakfast is great and well above the Chilean standards. The warm conversation with Audrey made a peaceful stayed. The view of the Osorno and Puntiagudo Volcanoes are amazing. It´s a very special place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stumbled upon Lodge el Taique when the inn we were staying at didn't do dinner, bad move on their behalf because as soon as we saw Michael and Audrey's beautiful home we decided to check out of ours the next morning and spend the next night at Taique.

Such an amazing house built to amaze everywhere you look, in surroundings you can't help but sit back and soak in. They were great hosts, giving us advice on hikes and sights nearby, their passion for the area they live is contagious. After dinner they would share homemade plum liquor with us and sit down for a chat in Spanglish, although their English was very good as well.

Thank you so much for giving us such great memories of Southern Chile, all the best for your futures!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I agree with the other reviews that the setting of the property is amazing and the view of the volcanoes is really beautiful. The entrance of the lodge, the dining room and the terrace are really nice, too. We stayed at one of the cabañas which definitely look way better on the Lodge's homepage than in reality. As in the rooms the walls are very thin (you ALWAYS know what the other persons are doing in the bathroom) and when there is somebody walking the whole cabin vibrates. One of the paving tiles was broken and the warm water was very unsteady.

The food is too expensive for the quality and the presentation of the dishes is very poor. The breakfast is very mediocre, Nescafe, sugary juice and no eggs. I had hoped for a better food quality because of the French owner. The Pisco Sour was good, though.

Would I come back? I don't think so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were fortunate enough to unplug for 4 days as Michael and Audrey shared their mountain, and the triple volcano views from our cozy 2 bedroom cabin. This is a seemingly remote- get-a-way from it all experience, filled with peace and happiness and a wood burning stove to keep things toasty. We thoroughly enjoyed hitting up the lodge to socialize and witness breath taking sunsets, such a treat! Pisco Sours and fine wine, coupled with warm conversation and great food ( ahem- Michael is a french chef! bonus!) really made this a magical trip. If you are the kind of traveler in search of an adventure, and looking to get away from the typical hotel experience, then this is the place. We felt like we got to truly experience a region, and it now lives in our hearts now that they so graciously shared how the locals live. Lucky, lucky us, and lucky you if you enjoy traveling to this beautiful remote slice of heaven...

Room Tip: we booked a 2 bedroom cabin for ourselves and 2 boys- it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

When we arrived to the lodge it weather was rainy but the next day the sun was out and just reveal the charm of this place. A very nice view in a very calm surrounding.

The terrace was nice and facilitate meeting with other peope.

I could suggest that the decoration of the rooms being more charming. Basically there is no pictures, frames...

A very good adress for this region

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge El Taique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge El Taique

Address: Sector El Taique, Puyehue 5290000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puyehue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Puyehue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge El Taique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge El Taique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.