We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was good but the lady” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Varas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guest House Bed and Breakfast
O'Higgins 608 | Casilla 535, Puerto Varas, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Puerto Varas B&B and Inns
Utrecht
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good but the lady”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here one night. The building is beautiful and gives the traveller a refreshing sense of, indeed, being a guest in somebody's home. The owner was very nice, but there was a mask. The breakfast is fantastic and the maids too. Service is great!

Room Tip: Make sure you dont have the room next to the kitchen unless you have earplugs. The maid is making pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a great room and the breakfast was excellent.

It was very noisy on the first night as it was windy and the wind does blow right through the house causing windows and doors to rattle.

In spite of the rattling doors and windows it's a beautiful building and on a rainy Sunday it's the perfect place to get some travel planning done which is what we did as the communal seating area is perfect.

Breakfast was excellent, without a doubt the best granola and yogurt I've ever had and very very good homemade bread and jam.

Would definitely reccommend.

Room Tip: Room 11 is at the top of the house so is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We've learnt that we're staying in Chile a good two maybe three weeks before the tourist season really begins (mid-October). That suited us even more since I'd somehow managed to book our room for 27 Oct rather than 27 Sep when we arrived. Fortunately, there was room for us at The Guest House.

It's a lovingly restored German built house. You enter via a large comfortable communal lounge/dining room that's heated by a wood burning stove. There are bedrooms directly off this room as well as more off a similar large communal space upstairs.

The décor and furnishings are not contemporary but that's not the point of staying here.

The breakfasts was good and served until 10. The WiFi was excellent.

Vicki was great suggesting how we could use the two days we had to explore the area and also where we might want to dine.

Wherever you decide to stay I would recommend that you hire a car. We saw so much in our own time.

Vicki will organise a car with a local company for you to pick up from the airport for a good price.

We'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this guest house in late March. At first allocated Room 5 but as it was a bit dark and smelt of drains, we requested to move. No problem and were given a much nicer, lighter room on the first floor with large windows and no smell! Very good and varied breakfast and it was pleasant to gather around the large table with the other guests (not that there were many as we were there towards the end of the season). It was also good to have use of the internet free of charge. Our only complaint was the irratic supply of hot water in the shower. The stream of hot water would suddenly stop and you had to jump out to avoid the stream of cold which then came out. Then, after a few minutes the hot water would return. When we complained Petar was fairly sympathetic, but did not feel the need to do anything about it. Location good in a quiet side street about 10 mnutes walk into town. Warm and nicely furnished.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5 with the smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here for several nights and, all in all, would not hesitate to stop in again. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable. Fairly priced. Friendly service. My only issue is that sound carrried throughout the house at night. Voices from conversations downstairs could be heard and keep a light sleeper awake. The breakfast was better than most places we stayed in Chile this trip. It is located very conveniently just outside of the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We only spent one night here since we got in late at night from touring Chiloe, and had an early flight out the next morning. This was a lovely old building,Our room was large and comfortable, with a very large bathroom with a full tub and shower.

The morning breakfast was large and cooked to order. with crepes, yogurt, and fresh blueberries

It's difficult to say much about the location since it was late and dark when we arrived, but it was an easy walk to an area with several restaurants for dinner
I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in this area of Chile.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJones100, Propietario at Guest House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much, we do our best to make sure your stay is a fun experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent four nights here. Three things stand out: the building is over 100 years old and has interesting architecture, the breakfast is fantastic:home made breads, crepes, strudels, jam, coffee/tea, juice, fresh fruit, granola, ham and cheese.and lastly Petar who was the host while we were there was incredibly helpful with maps of suggested scenic tours to take in the region. He arranged for a car rental, offered us an early breakfast when we had to catch an early morninng bus, and offered tips on the best restaurants which was most appreciated. If you like staying in a unique setting with excellent food and service here is the place.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a private bath. Some have matrimonial beds and some don´t. The B &B is in a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Address: O'Higgins 608 | Casilla 535, Puerto Varas, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House is a restored Victorian Bed & Breakfast in the historic district of Puerto Varas. Also known as the Casa Kortman, we offer a cozy home away from home.Two blocks from the iconic Parroquial Church, and three blocks from downtown Puerto Varas. We offer 10 bedrooms with private baths, delightfully comfortable beds, personalized attention in a relaxed atmosphere. Our services include our famous breakfast. We also offer airport transfers, 24 hour a day free wifi, private parking, laundry, car rentals, tour services, as well as travel advice and maps. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guest House Bed And Breakfast By Vicki Johnson Hotel Puerto Varas
Guest House b&b By Vicki Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guest House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list