We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rest-stop for backpackers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of EllenHaus

EllenHaus
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Varas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
EllenHaus
Save
You added EllenHaus to your Saves list
Walker Martinez 239, Puerto Varas, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good rest-stop for backpackers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The rooms in this maze of a hotel are of decent size with comfy cushions and nice hot shower. It's not to pricy and a good choice for a private room when backpacking...
The free breakfast includes eggs, marmalade and bread but no fruit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is just to say that one year after my first review of this place my wife and I had occasion to return and once again found it a very congenial place to stay. The breakfasts, which include scrambled eggs, are better than adequate, it seems to me -- a 'continental breakfast' would not include eggs, and few hostels provide eggs, in my experience. We had a double room, with a bathroom en suite, so we were at the top end of what they have to offer in terms of accommodation. It was comfortable and quiet. And you can't beat the location of this place, surely. If you have an option, stay in a room on the front of the building, on the top floor. This would be sunniest and most cheerful.

Room Tip: Top floor, front of the building for perhaps the best of the double rooms ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

There are a range of reviews for this place and we fall into the happy to have stayed here camp. We had a double room ensuite and whilst the room was small it was well lit and clean. It had a tv. We chose this hospedaje as it had a kitchen. This was in the basement and a little lacking in natural light but the utensils and facilities were good. The wifi didn't extend to our room but the communal areas were large. The staff were efficient and we never had to wait to be let in. Laundry here costs the same as elsewhere in town. As for breakfast- toast, egg and coffee. Better than Argentina but not memorable.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

It is winter at this time in this region. The hotel has potential due to it's size.
One trip advisor wrote 'breakfasts here are outstanding', but they're restrictive portions that might suit a small child. In my experience, the staff treated customers like peasants, only ensuring heating in the reception of the hotel where they were seated. When asked for heating in other parts of the hotel, they were reluctant to provide heating (oil heaters). Not all rooms have heating, so one is expected to leave the bedroom door open, in the hope that the heat from the distant corridor will help. Or pay double for a room with oil heating. Either way, they just shrugged their shoulders as though wearing many layers and ones coat inside was acceptable, whilst they enjoyed the heat from the oil heater at reception.
Even hot water to keep the cold at bay was restricted.
The main door is always locked and customers are not given a key, so one has to rely on someone at reception to open the main door. This can take a long time, standing in the cold waiting for someone to open the door.
Overall, it was hard to know which was colder, the temperature in the hotel or the staff. Maybe tit is different in summer...who knows.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere, a hostal would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I call this place a 'rabbit warren' playfully, without even glancing in the direction of disparagement, because it is such a large place, with corridors going off in all directions, and rooms in surprising places. We had a double room on the top floor at the front of the building and loved it--very comfortable, quiet, not cramped (though it would be pushing it to call it 'spacious'), and possessed of some character or charm.

Puerto Varas is a very nice little town, infinitely nicer than Puerto Montt, and Ellenhaus is very much in the centre of it. No place could be more convenient.

The breakfasts here are outstanding, because you get a scrambled egg with your toast or pastry and jam, coffee or tea. After a couple of months in Argentina, where you almost never see eggs on any menu, it seems to me, this was such a welcome change!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We came to EllenHaus because the hostel we originally wanted to stay at was full. Four of us were put into a triangular ~9x11 room, so there was not alot of space to fit everyone and their things.

The first night, the hot water ran out while I was shampooing. I went downstairs in a towel to tell the lady at reception, but she didn't know how to replace the propane tank, so I had to rinse off with cold water. They didn't have the hot water fixed until well into the next afternoon.

Over the next few days, there were continued interruptions to the hot water supply. Aside from that, the showers were generally cramped, dark, and somewhat smelly. Shower heads and faucets also had a knack for coming off and hitting one's head, feet, or whatever else happened to be below.

However, the real dealbreaker was in their rules and restrictions. The reception is closed and the front gate bolted shut from 2-7 am, so you're out of luck if you try to get in during that period. Even worse, you're not even allowed downstairs after 2 am. I made that unpleasant discovery while I was in the lobby on my computer, dealing with important work deadlines. I told the receptionist that I needed the wireless for work, but was promptly and brusquely told that the wireless was to be available only until 1 am (and indeed she'd turned it off), the lobby closed at 2 am, and I needed to leave immediately.

Essentially, while you should expect to get what you pay for, the run-down facilities, lack of basic utilities, and restrictions make this place not even worth the 6500 pesos per night in the dorm. For the same price, you can at least find a place that provides hot water more reliably and allows you to use WiFi past 2 am in this town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucon, Chile
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

This place is good if you just want a bed for the night - the beds are very comfy. The room I stayed in was tiny, but ok (just) for 1 person. The included breakfast was minimal - 2 pieces of toast with jam. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EllenHaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EllenHaus

Address: Walker Martinez 239, Puerto Varas, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Varas
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EllenHaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.